M.Leddy + davidfosterwallace   107

David Brooks and SNOOTs
David Brooks misunderstands the David Foster Wallace acronym.
DavidFosterWallace 
4 days ago by M.Leddy
“Day after day after day”
A high-school junior, a year’s worth of Wendy’s Chicken Nuggets, and Infinite Jest.
DavidFosterWallace 
may 2017 by M.Leddy
DFW and Illinois
A brief tour in The New York Times.
DavidFosterWallace  Illinois 
december 2016 by M.Leddy
DFW on utilize
Three versions of a note for the Oxford American Writer’s Thesaurus.
DavidFosterWallace  usage 
june 2016 by M.Leddy
DFW at Kenyon
An account of how David Foster Wallace came to give a commencement address at Kenyon College.
DavidFosterWallace 
may 2016 by M.Leddy
Orin Incandenza, shapeshifter
He could be a progressive or a moderate, whatever a voter prefers.
DavidFosterWallace  politics 
february 2016 by M.Leddy
Overheard
It felt like David Foster Wallace’s The Pale King .
DavidFosterWallace  overheard 
february 2016 by M.Leddy
NYT sanitizes DFW
They mess you up, The New York Times .
DavidFosterWallace  NewYorkTimes 
february 2016 by M.Leddy
The Pale King : progressive sales tax
‘Irrelevant’ Chris Fogle tells the story of Illinois’s (imaginary) 1977 experiment in a progressive sales tax.
DavidFosterWallace 
january 2016 by M.Leddy
Word of the day: banausic
It appears in David Foster Wallace’s The Pale KIng (2011), in the extraordinary last-class hortation spoken by a Jesuit substitute instructor of accountancy.
DavidFosterWallace  words 
january 2016 by M.Leddy
Infinite Winter
Reading David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest in thirteen weeks.
DavidFosterWallace 
january 2016 by M.Leddy
The End of the Tour
This film might better have been titled Although of Course You End Up Becoming a Caricature of Yourself.
DavidFosterWallace  film 
august 2015 by M.Leddy
Word of the Day: sprachgefühl
“Sprachgefühl Necessitates Our Ongoing Tendance.”
DavidFosterWallace  words 
march 2015 by M.Leddy
DFW, non-Philo-ite
DFW did not grow up in Philo, Illinois.
DavidFosterWallace 
january 2015 by M.Leddy
David Foster Wallace’s backhand
Did David Foster Wallace hit a backhand with one hand, or two?
DavidFosterWallace 
november 2014 by M.Leddy
Another school principal borrows from DFW’s commencement speech
The inspiration didn’t come from Wallace’s speech. The speech came from Wallace’s speech.
DavidFosterWallace  plagiarism 
june 2014 by M.Leddy
DFW, “Your Liberal-Arts $ at Work”
“Pedantry is always tiresome, but it’s especially tiresome when the pedant doesn’t know what he is talking about.”
DavidFosterWallace  grammar  punctuation  usage  words 
april 2014 by M.Leddy
Review: Wallace and Garner, Quack This Way
“When it comes to language and usage and writing, there are two kinds of people: those who care, and those who could care less.”
BryanGarner  DavidFosterWallace  language  writing 
december 2013 by M.Leddy
Don’t open the yellow door
This post is for my friends Sara and Stefan and all readers of David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest.
DavidFosterWallace 
september 2013 by M.Leddy
DFW book from Madras Press
The Fogle story may be the best thing in the The Pale King.
DavidFosterWallace 
july 2013 by M.Leddy
David Foster Wallace sometimes didn’t know what he was talking about
Pedantry is always tiresome, but it’s especially tiresome when the pedant doesn’t know what he is talking about. A class handout with many mistakes.
DavidFosterWallace  punctuation 
march 2013 by M.Leddy
DFW Kenyon discrepancies
Three significant discrepancies between the audio and print versions of the 2005 Kenyon College commencement address, accounted for.
DavidFosterWallace 
february 2013 by M.Leddy
DFW, Kenyon, and the Internet
Elizabeth Lopatto explains how David Foster Wallace’s 2005 Kenyon College commencement address became an Internet sensation.
DavidFosterWallace 
february 2013 by M.Leddy
DFW on writing by hand
“Writing by hand and typewriter not only brings out the best in me — it brings out stuff I never would have dreamed was there.”
DavidFosterWallace  handwriting 
january 2013 by M.Leddy
DFW blues howler
David Foster Wallace writing about a subject he must have known little about.
blues  DavidFosterWallace  music 
november 2012 by M.Leddy
Bryan Garner on snoot
Bryan Garner glosses David Foster Wallace’s “snoot .”
BryanGarner  DavidFosterWallace  words 
november 2012 by M.Leddy
Bicycles, streetcars, annular systems
Justin Hollander cautions against ditching “good old paper,” pointing out that the merits of such once-passé technologies as bicycles and streetcars have of late been recognized anew.
DavidFosterWallace  paper  technology 
october 2012 by M.Leddy
Recently updated
“Does a curious sentence in the Oxford American Writer’s Thesaurus have anything to do with David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest? Now there’s an answer.”
DavidFosterWallace 
september 2012 by M.Leddy
The new DFW biography
To its credit, D. T. Max’s biography deepens the enigma of David Foster Wallace’s character. But it also leaves much unsaid.
DavidFosterWallace 
september 2012 by M.Leddy
DFW, thesaurus entries
Did David Foster Wallace have something to do with a very strange sample sentence in the Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus?
DavidFosterWallace 
august 2012 by M.Leddy
Cities and advertising
Life imitates David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest: the New York Times reports on cities raising money by selling advertising on fire trucks, police cars, rescue helicopters, and school buses.
advertising  DavidFosterWallace 
june 2012 by M.Leddy
Recently updated
“Nonplussed,” correctly used, in Infinite Jest
DavidFosterWallace  words 
june 2012 by M.Leddy
David Foster Wallace, nonplussed
Several years ago I came to realize that I misunderstood the meaning of the word nonplussed. So I am amused to see David Foster Wallace using the word correctly in his first novel, The Broom of the System.
DavidFosterWallace  words 
june 2012 by M.Leddy
A “spect-op” in Los Angeles
A 340-ton boulder is delivered to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.
DavidFosterWallace 
march 2012 by M.Leddy
The “FaceTime Facelift”
For readers of David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest (1996), life is once again imitating art.
DavidFosterWallace  telephone 
march 2012 by M.Leddy
Social relations and technology
Dartmouth student Benjamin Schwartz on Facebook and Infinite Jest’s video telephony.
culture  DavidFosterWallace  technology 
february 2012 by M.Leddy
Infinite Jest and Liberal Arts
“The screenplay is salted with a love of literature, and David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest plays a key role. “That book really messes you up,” Radnor said. “But read it.”
DavidFosterWallace  film 
january 2012 by M.Leddy
Definitive Jest
Jarett Myskiw’s Definitive Jest: “a vocabulary-building and SNOOT-approved word-of-the-day blog centered around David Foster Wallace's Infinite Jest.”
DavidFosterWallace  words 
january 2012 by M.Leddy
Art imitates life imitates art (M*A*S*H)
M*A*S*H in east-central Illinois and Infinite Jest.
DavidFosterWallace  television 
january 2012 by M.Leddy
Foot Clinic sign
On West Sunset Boulevard in Los Angeles, and In David Foster Wallace’s The Pale King.
DavidFosterWallace  LosAngeles  signage 
december 2011 by M.Leddy
Panhandling and handshakes
Dan Ariely’s account of experiments in panhandling reminded me of a passage in Infinite Jest.
DavidFosterWallace  fiction 
december 2011 by M.Leddy
Recently updated
More on Infinite Jest and film.
DavidFosterWallace  film 
august 2011 by M.Leddy
Eschaton-inspired video
The Decemberists make an Infinite Jest-inspired video.
DavidFosterWallace  film  music 
august 2011 by M.Leddy
Pale King review
Mine, in World Literature Today
DavidFosterWallace 
july 2011 by M.Leddy
DFW as a character in a novel
David Foster Wallace in someone else’s fiction: I guess it was bound to happen.
DavidFosterWallace  fiction 
july 2011 by M.Leddy
Principal borrows from DFW’s commencement speech
Middle-school principal borrows without attribution from David Foster Wallace.
DavidFosterWallace 
june 2011 by M.Leddy
Federer v. Nadal
David Foster Wallace on Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal: “Apollo and Dionysus. Scalpel and cleaver. Righty and southpaw.”
DavidFosterWallace 
june 2011 by M.Leddy
Re: tornadoes
David Foster Wallace: “Tornadoes were, in our part of Central Illinois, the dimensionless point at which parallel lines met and whirled and blew up. They made no sense.”
DavidFosterWallace  weather 
may 2011 by M.Leddy
The Pale King, deskwork
“[S]itting still and concentrating on just one task for an extended period of time is, as a practical matter, impossible.”
DavidFosterWallace 
may 2011 by M.Leddy
DFW in Peoria
Gary Panetta of the Peoria Journal Star writes about David Foster Wallace and the unfinished novel The Pale King.
DavidFosterWallace 
may 2011 by M.Leddy
Infinite Jest dream
“Why don’t you try some broken ones, and a mercury-chilling motif?”
DavidFosterWallace  dreams 
april 2011 by M.Leddy
A Pale King event
In Normal, Illinois, a reading to mark the publication of David Foster Wallace’s unfinished novel.
DavidFosterWallace 
april 2011 by M.Leddy
The Pale King, dullness
“This terror of silence with nothing diverting to do.”
DavidFosterWallace  distraction 
april 2011 by M.Leddy
“Share Curiosity. Read Together.”
With apologies to H.A. Rey, Margret Ray, and the gummint.
books  DavidFosterWallace  reading 
april 2011 by M.Leddy
ML on DFW at Broadcastr
“To mark the arrival of The Pale King, Broadcastr has invited readers to record brief appreciations of David Foster Wallace’s work.” So I did.
DavidFosterWallace 
april 2011 by M.Leddy
A “spect-op”
“On Monday, life in an English town came to a halt as crowds gathered to look at an object floating in a river.”
DavidFosterWallace 
april 2011 by M.Leddy
The Pale King and commerce
The publication date for The Pale King is April 15, but the book is already on sale online and in some bookstores.
bookstores  DavidFosterWallace 
april 2011 by M.Leddy
“Taste worth dying for!”
The Heart Attack Grill in Chandler, Arizona, seems like an outtake from David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest.
culture  DavidFosterWallace  fiction  food 
march 2011 by M.Leddy
The Pale King, the first review
Publishers Weekly has what appears to be the first review of David Foster Wallace’s unfinished novel The Pale King.
DavidFosterWallace  fiction 
march 2011 by M.Leddy
Infinite Jest and Mike Huckabee
“Then there are what I might call your Kamikaze-style liars. These’ll tell you a surreal and fundamentally incredible lie, and then pretend a crisis of conscience and retract the original lie, and then offer you the lie they really want you to buy instead, so the real lie’ll appear as some kind of concession, a settlement with truth. That type’s mercifully easy to see through.”
DavidFosterWallace  politics 
march 2011 by M.Leddy
« earlier      
per page:    204080120160

Copy this bookmark:



description:


tags: