cjbarber/ToolsOfTheTrade: Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News.


314 bookmarks. First posted by Spigot july 2014.


Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News. Contribute to cjbarber/ToolsOfTheTrade development by creating an account on GitHub.
19 hours ago by cpak

When I first started delicious, we had to host most of the services ourselves. CVS, mail, mailing lists, etc etc etc.

These days, lots of that stuff is available as SaaS. What are the tools and services people use instead of hosting their own?
github  tools  reference 
4 days ago by davidgasperoni
Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News. Contribute to cjbarber/ToolsOfTheTrade development by creating an account on GitHub.
resource  webdevelopment  github  list  development  business  startup 
4 days ago by ilijusin
Hackernews compiled list of tools for startups
tools  list  startups 
4 days ago by danroc
Hacker News Tools of the Trade
tools 
6 days ago by klyhrd
a lot of services. this might be a good hit list for Manifold
development 
6 days ago by milhous
Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News. Contribute to cjbarber/ToolsOfTheTrade development by creating an account on GitHub.
development  tools 
8 days ago by jonaswouters
cjbarber/ToolsOfTheTrade:
tools  saas 
9 days ago by sordyl
via dfjs’s Activity
opensource 
9 days ago by darren
Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News. Contribute to cjbarber/ToolsOfTheTrade development by creating an account on GitHub.
10 days ago by thenerdscribe
Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News. Contribute to cjbarber/ToolsOfTheTrade development by creating an account on GitHub.
business  sass 
10 days ago by natelandau
This list also includes self-hosted as well as hosted services.
list  tools 
10 days ago by mandarine
Background

In 2010, Joshua Schachter, the founder of Delicious, posted the following on Hacker News:

When I first started delicious, we had to host most of the services ourselves. CVS, mail, mailing lists, etc etc etc.

These days, lots of that stuff is available as SaaS. What are the tools and services people use instead of hosting their own?

(I'm not talking about actual production services like EC2 and Heroku and whatnot. We can go over this in another thread.)
In 2013, Sharjeel Qureshi, posted the following:

Few years ago, Joshua Schachter started this thread on HN for discussing hosted useful services: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=1769910

The contribution in thread introduced many interesting SaaS services which can immensely help in deploying services as well as development.

It's been three years since then. What do we have today?
Many thanks to the big contributors to the previous threads, including garrettdimon, espeed, netshade, and cmadan, and many more that I haven't named.
saas  tools 
10 days ago by euler
Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News. Contribute to cjbarber/ToolsOfTheTrade development by creating an account on GitHub.
tools  programming 
11 days ago by dlutcat
Gold! Gold! Gold! Gold! Gold! Gold! Gold!
gold  saas 
11 days ago by ken30096
List of SaaS products.
startup 
11 days ago by Sylphe
gpessia starred cjbarber/ToolsOfTheTrade
from:ifttt  github 
11 days ago by gpessia
Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News.
tools  saas  list  business  hackernews  awesome 
11 days ago by wjy
Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News. Contribute to cjbarber/ToolsOfTheTrade development by creating an account on GitHub.
tools  awesome  development 
11 days ago by rona25
Tools of the Trade, from Hacker News ()
from twitter_favs
11 days ago by bjcubsfan
Github repo
Name: ToolsOfTheTrade
Tagline: Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News.
Languages:

# Hacker News Tools of the Trade :sunglasses: [![](https://cdn.rawgit.com/sindresorhus/awesome/d7305f3/media/badge.svg)](https://github.com/sindresorhus/awesome)

> Tools of The Trade, from [Hacker News](https://news.ycombinator.com).

<p align="center">
<b><a href="#contents">Contents</a></b>
·
<b><a href="#use">Use</a></b>
·
<b><a href="#authors">Authors</a></b>
</p>

##### Background

In 2010, Joshua Schachter, the founder of Delicious, [posted the following](https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=1769910) on Hacker News:

> When I first started delicious, we had to host most of the services ourselves. CVS, mail, mailing lists, etc etc etc.
>
> These days, lots of that stuff is available as SaaS. What are the tools and services people use instead of hosting their own?
>
> (I'm not talking about actual production services like EC2 and Heroku and whatnot. We can go over this in another thread.)

In 2013, Sharjeel Qureshi, [posted the following](https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=5235137):

> Few years ago, Joshua Schachter started this thread on HN for discussing hosted useful services: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=1769910
>
> The contribution in thread introduced many interesting SaaS services which can immensely help in deploying services as well as development.
>
> It's been three years since then. What do we have today?

Many thanks to the big contributors to the previous threads, including garrettdimon, espeed, netshade, and cmadan, and many more that I haven't named.

##### Now

I've collected more data from Hacker News, AngelList and Quora, to make the 2015 (and hopefully beyond) version. This list also includes self-hosted as well as hosted services.

It's hosted on GitHub for a reason! Please submit pull requests.

## Contents

* [Identity Verification](#identity-verification)
* [Browser/Email Testing](#browseremail-testing)
* [Bug/Issue Tracking](#bugissue-tracking)
* [Planning & Project Management](#planning--project-management)
* [App Developer Tools](#app-developer-tools)
* [Localization & Internationalization](#localization--internationalization)
* [Business & Traffic Analytics](#business--traffic-analytics)
* [Conversion Optimization & A/B Testing](#conversion-optimization--ab-testing)
* [User Management](#user-management)
* [User Testing](#user-testing)
* [HR](#hr)
* [Payroll](#payroll)
* [Continuous Integration/Code Quality](#continuous-integrationcode-quality)
* [Dashboards](#dashboards)
* [Error/Exception Handling](#errorexception-handling)
* [Application Distribution](#application-distribution)
* [Log Monitoring](#log-monitoring)
* [Application Performance](#application-performance)
* [Load Testing](#load-testing)
* [Server Monitoring](#server-monitoring)
* [Customer Support/Help Desks](#customer-supporthelp-desks)
* [Transactional Email](#transactional-email)
* [Other APIs](#other-apis)
* [Site Search](#site-search)
* [Email...
github  programming  github-starred-to-pinboard  crypto 
february 2018 by brianyang
Tools for launching a new site
elasticnews  launch 
november 2017 by yehosef
cjbarber/ToolsOfTheTrade Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News. When I first started delicious, we had to host most of the services ourselves. CVS, mail, mailing lists, etc etc etc. These days, lots of that stuff is available as SaaS. via Pocket
ifttt  pocket  list  programming  reference  startup 
july 2016 by jeremyday
When I first started delicious, we had to host most of the services ourselves. CVS, mail, mailing lists, etc etc etc. These days, lots of that stuff is available as SaaS. What are the tools and services people use instead of hosting their own? | I'm not talking about actual production services like EC2 and Heroku and whatnot. We can go over this in another thread.
hacker.news 
february 2016 by chris.leaman
ToolsOfTheTrade - Tools of The Trade, from Hacker News.
business  development  tools  saas  list  reference 
september 2015 by atran