tysone + opinion   19

Why women don’t contribute to opinion pages as often as men & what we can do about it | Poynter.
“I’m pretty confident that this is a problem we’re going to lick in the near future,” Collins said. “It’s only been about the past quarter of a second, historically speaking, that women have been encouraged to take part in the public debate. Now they’re completely engaged, and I know that’s going to be reflected in opinion pages and opinion sites.”
women  diverity  opinion  nytopinion  from delicious
february 2011 by tysone
Op-Ed at 40: Illustrations
40 years of Op-Ed illustration at The New York Times.
forsnd  video  nytimes  opinion 
september 2010 by tysone
The Times Has a New Opinion
The Opinion Pages is close to my heart because it started out as a much different kind of project: it was originally chartered as a routine and much-needed clean up of the section, and left to its own devices would likely have taken a more standard approach
forsnd  nytimes  khoi_vinh  opinion 
september 2010 by tysone
Christine O'Donnell Delaware Primary - Charles P. Pierce on Delaware Primary - Esquire
She is what politics produces when you divorce politics from government. She is what you get when you sell to the country that nothing government can do will help, and that the government is an alien thing, and that politics is nothing more than the active public display of impotent grievance.
She is what politics produces when you turn them into a game show and the coverage of them over to a generation of high-technology racetrack touts. She is what you get when political journalism reduces politics to numbers on a scoreboard, divorcing them from the real world consequences of what are increasingly seen as cute little eccentric decisions.
politics  opinion 
september 2010 by tysone
Scocca : New York City Is Not a Nazi Death Camp
If Charles Krauthammer and Newt Gingrich think there is any comparison between what happened at Auschwitz and what happened at Ground Zero, then they are Holocaust deniers. Build 400 sets of Twin Towers, force an entire population into them at gunpoint, and then crash 800 airplanes into them—airplane after airplane, loaded with women and children, with the goal of exterminating their entire race—and you might begin to have something like Auschwitz.
wtc  9/11  nyc  opinion 
august 2010 by tysone
Op-Ed Columnist - The Technocracy Boom - NYTimes.com
When historians look back on the period between 2001 and 2011, they will be amazed that a nation that professed to hate bureaucracy produced so much of it.
prediction  david_brooks  opinion  nytimes 
july 2010 by tysone
The Populist Addiction - NYTimes.com
The populists have an Us versus Them mentality. They will have traded dynamic optimism, which always wins, for combative divisiveness, which always loses.
nytimes  opinion  culture  classism 
january 2010 by tysone
Citizen Conversation With… Dan Okrent | The Citizen
But it’s ingrained in the American tradition that there is an editorial voice that is the voice of ownership or the owner’s designee, that endorses candidates, that takes positions on legislation, that uses the one word which as a journalist just makes my skin crawl, which is ’should’: Congress should do this, the State Department should do this, Israelis and Palestinians should do this. It sounds like my mother telling me how to behave. I can’t argue that mine is a sensible position, but I’m a believer in facts and reporting and analysis that leads the reader to arrive at his or her own conclusions, rather than having the conclusions presented to them as if tablets from Mount Sinai.
opinion  nytcriticism  nytimes  politics 
september 2009 by tysone
Goodie Goodie | Kiss-Ass-Inger
Can you imagine illustrations so "blasphemous," so "politically embarrassing," so sexually "over the line" that The New York Times gladly paid a fortune just to protect your delicate eyes from being exposed to them?
nytimes  illustration  news_design  opinion 
may 2009 by tysone
Op-Ed Columnist - The Daily Me - NYTimes.com
So what’s the solution? Tax breaks for liberals who watch Bill O’Reilly or conservatives who watch Keith Olbermann? No, until President Obama brings us universal health care, we can’t risk the surge in heart attacks.
nytimes  politics  psychology  opinion  ideology  kristof 
march 2009 by tysone
Who Should Replace Bill Kristol at the New York 'Times'? -- New York Magazine
The Times’ strength—and weakness—is that it remains a paper for Upper West Siders, whether they live on the Upper West Side or not. ... But if the paper is smart, it’ll capitulate to its destiny and hire the ultimate nonconservative conservative, Stephen Colbert.
politics  opinion  colbert  nytime 
february 2009 by tysone
Facebook sentiment mining predicts presidential polls - Brendan O'Connor's Blog
"My friend Roddy at Facebook wrote a post describing their sentiment analysis system, which can evaluate positive or negative sentiment toward a particular topic by looking at a large number of wall messages."
polling  opinion  facebook  data 
december 2008 by tysone
America the Banana Republic: Politics & Power: vanityfair.com
I have heard arguments about whether it was Milton Friedman or Gore Vidal who first came up with this apt summary of a collusion between the overweening state and certain favored monopolistic concerns, whereby the profits can be privatized and the debts conveniently socialized, but another term for the same system would be “banana republic.”
politics  opinion  hitchens  economy  finance 
october 2008 by tysone
Op-Ed Columnist - Aaron Sorkin Conjures a Meeting of Obama and Bartlet - Op-Ed - NYTimes.com
There are times when you are simply required to be impolite. There are times when condescension is called for!
obama  opinion  politics  nytimes  sorkin 
september 2008 by tysone
Bringing Pell Grants to My Eyes - Sarah Vowell - Op-Ed - NYTimes.com
I have spent the last eight years so disgusted with the incompetent yahoos of the executive branch that I had forgotten that I believe in one of the core principles of the Democratic Party — that government can be a useful, meaningful and worthwhile force for good in this republic instead of just an embarrassing, torturing, Book of Revelation starter kit.
politics  obama  sarah_vowell  opinion 
september 2008 by tysone
Huffington Post spreads itself thin - Los Angeles Times
Just don't expect any time soon to find America's No. 1 blog digging deep for the toughest stories. No, it's still newspapers and a few other outlets that are providing the heavy excavation and producing reports about, for example, secret terrorist prisons operated by the U.S. government, warrantless wiretapping of American citizens and the substandard care of troops in one of our most prestigious military hospitals.
huffingtonpost  journalism  opinion  newspapers  blogs 
august 2008 by tysone
Is the Post-Russert Commentariat Any More Powerful? -- New York Magazine
And so, perversely, thanks to modern technology, America has returned to its nineteenth-century roots: political discourse as entertainment, and almost everybody, from know-it-alls to wiseacres, mouthing off around the cracker barrel.
politics  opinion  journalism  analysis 
july 2008 by tysone
Believe Me, It's Torture: Politics & Power: vanityfair.com
What more can be added to the debate over U.S. interrogation methods, and whether waterboarding is torture? Try firsthand experience. Christopher Hitchens undergoes the controversial drowning technique.
torture  politics  hitchens  opinion  iraq  journalism 
july 2008 by tysone

Copy this bookmark:



description:


tags: