scorpionvoices + opinion:interesting   65

How Europeans stereotype one another, in one chart
• Italians say that their country is the least trustworthy. Germans and Spanish agree.

• Poland has some of the strongest feelings about Germany, which is perhaps unsurprising given their history, identifying Germans as un-compassionate and arrogant. Oddly, Poles identify Germany as both the most and least trustworthy nation in the European Union.
article  opinion:interesting  yakyakyak:stereotypes 
may 2013 by scorpionvoices
Further Up and Further In - Vera (Vera_DragonMuse) - Supernatural [Archive of Our Own]
Grieving, Sam takes a leave of absence from his law firm to sort himself out. Instead, he meets his abrasive damaged neighbor, Gabriel. They discuss faith, literature, philosophy and all the many poor life decisions they've made. [24,871]
fic  tv:supernatural  c:spn:sam  c:spn:gabriel  c:spn:dean  c:spn:castiel  theme:grief  theme:angst  theme:h/c  theme:snark  theme:fixing  theme:first-time  theme:selfrescue  theme:afterlife  theme:asexuality  theme:love  p:spn:gabriel/sam  p:spn:castiel/dean  genre:slash  rating:nc-17  @ao3  opinion:interesting  style:philosophical 
january 2013 by scorpionvoices
night revelations • Jeff Davis is an Enlightenment Writer
So anyway, if you accept that the way Davis writes is in the Enlightenment style, then you have to accept that Scott is the Enlightenment Hero, who is ultimately good hearted and tries to save everyone. Who makes mistakes, but learns from them, and most importantly to the show, is always morally correct in everything he does (even when he makes a horrible mistake and must learn from it, his heart was in the right place). He’s an idealist who earnestly tries.

Meanwhile, at the same time, Jeff Davis is writing Derek as a Romantic Hero - the guy who rejects social norms. He is the alien who lives in the burned out hulk of his former home and doesn’t trust anyone. He’s a Heathcliff whose Katherine betrayed him completely. He’s the visceral embodiment of nature in all its brutality, while Scott is the example of society with all it’s promise because ultimately Jeff Davis is a believer in the Enlightenment school who wants happy endings and uptopias and worlds without sexism or homophobia. So of course Derek is going to get shafted while Scott gets heaped with glory. That’s the story Jeff Davis is telling. The Enlightment Hero and the Romantic Hero are always at odds with each other because they stand for completely opposite views on society and the human race.
meta  tv:teenwolf  @tumblr  opinion:interesting  opinion:awesome  for-kayla 
january 2013 by scorpionvoices
An Eyeless Face - Not_You - The Avengers (2012) [Archive of Our Own]
Written for a very special prompt on Avengerkink that I'm going to bother to quote in full:

Clint is called Hawkeye, and that's truer than most people know. You see, Clint is special. He has a whole collection of eyes for every occasion. Hawk eyes for accuracy, infrared eyes for tracking people at night, cat eyes for seeing in dim light, even a set of plain old human eyes he uses for nights out on the town. Somewhere in his room/nest is a shelf full of different eyes he uses, though he usually keeps a few sets on him, just in case. In truth, Clint is actually blind; he has no eyes of his own, just uses the various sets that he has. (Whether his ability to change out his eyes is science or magic or some kind of tech is up to you, dear author.)

Please show me the team's reaction when they find out! Are they intrigued? Disgusted? Just plain weirded out?

(Coulson finds out, and years later, so does the team.) [1766]
fic  u:marvel  m:Avengers12  c:avengers:clint  c:marvel:coulson  c:avengers:ensemble  theme:superpowers  theme:secrets  theme:friendship  theme:h/c  theme:team!  kink:powers  p:marvel:clint/coulson  genre:slash  rating:pg-13  @ao3  opinion:interesting 
november 2012 by scorpionvoices
Fanon to Canon: A Journey - Saucery - Teen Wolf (TV) [Archive of Our Own]
I’ve been in many fandoms, over the years. Many, many fandoms. And in many of them, I’ve been queer-baited, and in many others, my existence as a slash fan wasn’t acknowledged, at all.

But this? Is the first time in my entire fannish life, in more than a decade, that I’ve actually felt my slash OTP might become canon. That it has a real shot at becoming canon.

This is why.
post:meta  author:saucery  tv:teenwolf  p:teenwolf:derek/stiles  thetruthaboutfandom  opinion:awesome  opinion:interesting  @ao3 
july 2012 by scorpionvoices
I just did a lot of math. - Dion, the Socialist.
With an initial investment of 7.2 billion dollars the U.S. stands to gain 16.6 billion dollars per year in the naturalization of undocumented immigrants.


Math is not my strong point, so maybe I’m missing something here, but it seems like naturalization for undocumented immigrants is super duper fiscally conservative. Why come Republicans don’t support it?
Oh wait. Racism.
opinion:interesting  yakyakyak:politics  yakyakyak:racism  @tumblr 
july 2012 by scorpionvoices
lolaraincoat: What would surprise Captain America?
Computers as consumer goods, I agree, are pretty new and different. But when thinking about what might shock Captain America, writers should remember that World War Two, like all the big wars since 1850 or so, gave a huge impetus to technology, and even an ordinary soldier would have seen rapid change in information technology over the course of the war. Presumably the guy who got shot up with the top-secret super-soldier serum would have been around a lot more rapid technological change: radar, early computing (Alan Turing, who invented the Turing test, spent World War Two pioneering decryption software, remember), the first glimmerings of television (though not broadcast), the first antibiotics ...

So it's not so much that computers would shock the defrosted Captain because of their newness, I think. They might shock him because they are the latest development of the flowering of consumer culture in the postwar decades. So I'm not sure they would shock him more than disposable plastic sporks or drive-through Starbucks. Bear in mind that he grew up in the Great Depression: throwing stuff out would be very hard for him; being surrounded by objects which were made in order to be thrown out might astonish him.
post:meta  m:Avengers12  c:avengers:steve  yakyakyak:history  writers.reference  opinion:interesting  @dw 
june 2012 by scorpionvoices
The Fabulist: A Unified Theory of Fandom
So, why The Avengers? Because fandom is my fandom, I naturally have a Theory about this. After much highly scientific research, most of it carried out on my couch or while having a meditative leg-shave in the shower, I have come to the conclusion that four conditions must be met in order to precipitate a Fandom Global Event. A Fandom Global Event (henceforth to be abbreviated as FGE) is when fandom becomes so huge that basically, the entire universe is a fan, and by fan I of course mean fans, not normals who saw the movie once and liked it and went on with their lives. Harry Potter is an FGE. The sort of fandom that is EVERYWHERE, and there’s no escaping it, and every one crawls out of their own individual fandom cells to come to the light of the FGE. You might want to ignore the FGE, but you cannot. The FGE rules fandom.

But why? Why Avengers and not, say, any of the other smart, sexy, interesting books/movies/TV shows of the past ten years? Because Avengers meets the Four Perfect Conditions of Fandom
post:meta  m:Avengers12  opinion:interesting  thetruthaboutfandom 
june 2012 by scorpionvoices
5 Ways Modern Men Are Trained to Hate Women | Cracked.com
Now go to the front page of any mostly male discussion site like Reddit.com and see how many inches you can browse before finding several thousand men bemoaning how all women are gold-digging whores (7,500 upvotes) and how crazy and irrational women are (9,659 upvotes) and how horrible and gross and fat women are (4,000 upvotes). Or browse the "Men's Rights" section and see weird fantasies about alpha males defeating all the hot women who try to control them with their vaginas.

This current of white-hot rage has to come as a surprise to some of you, because we tend to think "sexism" is being dismissive toward women, or paying them lower salaries -- we don't think of it as frenzied "burn the witch!" hatred. Yet occasionally something like this Limbaugh thing will come along to prick that balloon, and out it pours. Like it's always waiting there, a millimeter below the surface.

Why? Well, you see ...
yakyakyak:sexism  opinion:interesting  @cracked 
june 2012 by scorpionvoices
sex is not the enemy
In the Ukraine, a country where females are victims of sexual trafficking and gender oppression, a new tribe of empowered women is emerging. Calling themselves the “Asgarda”, the women seek complete autonomy from men.
opinion:interesting  yakyakyak:feminism  @sexisnottheenemy 
may 2012 by scorpionvoices
Hello, tailor.: The costumes and characters of The Avengers. Part 2: Tony Stark, Pepper Potts, and Bruce Banner.
From my limited knowledge of Avengers comics canon I was expecting the movie to focus more on the clash of personalities between Steve Rogers and Tony Stark, but the genius of The Avengers was that it explored all these different permutations of the Avengers team that I'd never considered before. The best example of this was the unexpectedly perfect combination of Bruce Banner and Tony Stark. The most poorly-handled character of the Marvel universe thus far -- the Hulk's human alter-ego -- ended up with the most engaging hero's journey in the film.
meta  m:Avengers12  opinion:interesting 
may 2012 by scorpionvoices
Dr John Watson, or, The strange case of the Army doctor's worn-out boots - abundantlyqueer - Sherlock (TV) [Archive of Our Own]
Meta: a detailed discussion of the various implicit and explicit references to John Watson's military service in BBC Sherlock.
tv:sherlock  meta  c:SH:watson  characterstudy  opinion:interesting  @ao3 
march 2012 by scorpionvoices
theoriginalsam: By The People, or How Reality Television Did Away With Campaign Ads
Here's the thing: a presidential candidate can spend a day serving food at a soup kitchen, but the news is never, ever, going to play more than a thirty-second highlight reel. The papers and even the websites are only going to run still photos. Whereas if you put him or her under a camera for the entire day, and then you take that back and edit it into the forty minutes a reality show runs to...

People snap. People get cranky, they fuck up, they don't make the cut. And you can put it all on the television.

It's not real. It's still fake. But it's reality-television fake. So at least The People know it's fake.

Reality television isn't about reality, in case you hadn't guessed. It's still about stories. But it's about crafting those stories from raw footage, and the viewers and the editors both know that's what it is.

Nobody needs reality. It's not like they were getting it from the politicians anyway.

"That's the slogan," Moseley says, when a bright young woman named Deb points this out. "That's how we sell the show."

Nobody needs reality.

It should be scary, but it's not.
originalfic  opinion:interesting  opinion:creepy  yakyakyak:politics  Ihavenotagsforthis  author:sam_storyteller  @lj 
march 2012 by scorpionvoices
COMIC ART CORRECTIONS
Often people who complain about this sort of carry-on are told that these women are SUPER FLEXIBLE and have abilities beyond the scope of everyday women. In fact, their fighting abilities and super abilities and what-not are put on display with this sort of illustration! This is just aiding the show of strength in this woman and by complaining about that, we’re complaining about the depiction of strong, able women in comics! Yes, I have seriously heard this argument before. Guess what?

Unlike Supergirl, it doesn’t fly. If it did, we’d be seeing male heroes like this.

Women’s skeletons contain the exact same amount of vertebrae as that of men. If that is the case, and if men look ridiculous in these poses, then SO DO WOMEN. And they do. You don’t even KNOW the amount of groaning and eye-rolling that goes on when we see this shit.

So here, for you, are some Comic Art Corrections of the worst spinal injuries I’ve seen. A lot of these images were brought to my attention via eschergirls.
art:fanart  comics  yakyakyak:feminism  opinion:interesting  opinion:awesome  @tumblr  for-kayla 
march 2012 by scorpionvoices
A Holiday Message from Ricky Gervais: Why I'm An Atheist - Speakeasy - WSJ
Why don’t you believe in God? I get that question all the time. I always try to give a sensitive, reasoned answer. This is usually awkward, time consuming and pointless. People who believe in God don’t need proof of his existence, and they certainly don’t want evidence to the contrary. They are happy with their belief. They even say things like “it’s true to me” and “it’s faith.” I still give my logical answer because I feel that not being honest would be patronizing and impolite. It is ironic therefore that “I don’t believe in God because there is absolutely no scientific evidence for his existence and from what I’ve heard the very definition is a logical impossibility in this known universe,” comes across as both patronizing and impolite.
yakyakyak:religion  opinion:interesting  opinion:awesome  article 
january 2012 by scorpionvoices
Men Photographed in Stereotypical Pin-Up Poses
“Men-ups!” is a humorous project by photographer Rion Sabean featuring men doing pin-up-style poses. It’s interesting how much more absurd some poses instantly look when they’re being done by men.
art  photography  yakyakyak:feminism  opinion:interesting  lolz.forever 
january 2012 by scorpionvoices
One of the earliest known examples of math homework - Boing Boing
It's stuff like this that makes me love archaeology. Turns out, we can trace the concept of math homework back to at least 2300 B.C.E., in ancient Mesopotamia.
yakyakyak:history  opinion:interesting  for-hannah 
december 2011 by scorpionvoices
Ibiki's Apprentice, a naruto fanfic by may wren - FanFiction.Net
The Academy's teachers thought they were getting one over on the Hokage, graduating an ill-prepared Naruto while Iruka was sick. The Hokage knew he was getting one over on the entire village when he assigned Morino Ibiki as Naruto's Jounin sensei. [4595] [Ok, I was genuinely surprised when this turned out to be not that bad. I'm not sure why I clicked it in the first place, but it's actually an interesting, if short, read.]
fic  an:naruto  oneshot  c:naru:naruto  c:naru:ibiki  c:naru:sandaime  shenanigans  opinion:interesting  humor  length:short  genre:gen  rating:pg  ficfromThePit 
december 2011 by scorpionvoices
waketosleep | H50: in which my fixation with serial killers becomes a terrible thing
So [personal profile] sutlers is busy tearing her way through the show Dexter right now, and it came up that one time I told, well, someone, idk who, that I wanted to write a Dexter-style H50 AU. Long story short, late last night I actually managed to accomplish it (more or less) in just under 1400 words.

So here it is: Hawaii Five-0, Dexter-style (the important parts).
fic  tv:hawaii5-0  au:fusion  tv:dexter  c:h50:steve  c:h50:danny  opinion:interesting  theme:aftermath  theme:crimeisthenewblack!  theme:grief  p:h50:danny/steve  style:cliffhanger  genre:slash  author:waketosleep  @dw  for-cindy 
december 2011 by scorpionvoices
lierdumoa: Genderbending Meta
If a woman introduced herself by saying, "I like football and ferris wheels" we'd be calling her a ditz. If a woman were hiding her intelligence, we would assume her motivation was not to fit in with the jocks, but rather to avoid intimidating them.

If John were a woman, fandom would make assumptions about him that we don't make because he is not a woman. Or rather, the fandom would conclude that the writers were making assumptions about "women in general" in writing John. Offensive assumptions. The fact that John is a man is, well, interesting. I honestly believe John is the product of a bunch of male geeks getting in a room and trying to envision the perfect man and, being heterosexual, instead envisioning the perfect woman and then giving her a cock. I'd call it subversive if I weren't so sure the writers were doing it completely on accident.

I mean, think about it. If it were on purpose? So subversive.
meta  tv:sga  trope:sexswap  opinion:interesting  for-kayla  for-cindy  @lj 
november 2011 by scorpionvoices
mithrigil: THE SPARRING LEADS TO SEX: a Manifest
First off, "The Sparring Leads to Sex" is not "Slap Slap Kiss". "Slap Slap Kiss" is when two characters who are both-still-angry at each other decide to get it on. Slap Slap Kiss is not necessary violent, and even less necessarily combative or structured. Sometimes Slap Slap Kiss overlaps with The Sparring Leads to Sex as a motivation and spark, but oddly enough I tend to find this less hot. Perhaps this is because when it escalates to a sufficiently violent level to also qualify as The Sparring Leads to Sex, Slap Slap Kiss is much less about the physicality of the fight.

The Sparring Leads to Sex, at core, requires an enjoyment of fighting, or at least of fighting each other. At least one participant in the fight has to appreciate the fists flying.
meta  opinion:interesting  lolz.forever  for-kayla  for-cindy  @lj 
november 2011 by scorpionvoices
kayliemalinza: Ramble!verse fic wherein Gaila is molting
Gaila wakes up itchy at 0530 and moans when she looks in the mirror. Her belly is splotched with yellow and red. At her waist the skin is brittle, dried-out brown, and crumbles when she bends. She thinks for several panicky moments that she is ill, but as she prods at her limbs and breasts, tugs the roots of her hair, tests the edges of her eyesight, she realizes she is molting. Gaila moans again. How has this surprised her? Is she now so ignorant of her own body? [2154] [omg this fic is so fascinating!!]
fic  u:startrek  m:startrek09  c:startrek:gaila  characterstudy  worldbuilding  opinion:interesting  theme:transformation  genre:gen  @lj 
november 2011 by scorpionvoices
cap_ironman: An Info Post!
I was volunteered by [info]valtyr to make an Info Post, since we're getting an influx of new people and sometimes we rely on jargon the way Tony used transistors back in the 60s. I'm going to put together a brief blurb of the major Marvel Universes and how they relate to Steve/Tony, so if you've been twiddling your thumbs and wondering why Tony suddenly has a brain tumor (that one had me confused for the longest time, urgh), hopefully this will help.

Please forgive me if I'm repeating what you already know, I'm just trying to cover all the bases ever.
u:marvel  primer  author:tsukinofaerii  p:marvel:steve/tony  opinion:interesting  @lj 
november 2011 by scorpionvoices
» Is Thor a feminist movie? (Yes) Social Justice League
Branagh’s Thor is more feminist than I thought a movie about a male superhero could ever be. Of course, it occurs to me that most of the things I am praising here are things that all films should be doing. They aren’t doing them, though. Thor is.
article  yakyakyak:feminism  meta  m:thor  opinion:interesting  for-kayla 
november 2011 by scorpionvoices
North Dakota town struggles to keep pace with oil boom - Spokesman.com - Oct. 25, 2011
New drilling technology has freed up vast reserves of oil in the Williston Basin of western North Dakota, fueling an economic bonanza that has become a flat-out gold rush. As the rest of the country desperately tries to skirt a double-dip recession, North Dakota boasts a $1 billion budget surplus and the nation’s lowest unemployment rate. Recruits from Minnesota, Texas and both coasts keep arriving, reversing a long population decline. Schools are rushing to hire more teachers. Towns are adding more cops.

And the boom keeps booming – almost 200 drilling rigs are boring 100 new wells a month. The state’s most recent figures show 16,435 job openings, 48 percent more than a year ago.

But so many workers have flooded the oil patch that many longtime residents and officials are beginning to complain about something most places in the country could barely comprehend: Too much prosperity; too much rapid growth.
article  opinion:interesting 
october 2011 by scorpionvoices
thingswithwings | this is a post about paedophilia.
I've been reading all these articles about Roman Polanski, and have been generally disgusted with the manner in which his apologists have claimed that he's not a rapist, or a paedophile, because he's all these other things - a nice, charming guy, a father, a brilliant filmmaker, and on and on. But occasionally in my reading I saw the arguments for and against Polanski's arrest go like this:

against: "Polanski isn't a child rapist! He's an X!" (where X = brilliant filmmaker, father, husband, nice guy)
for: "Polanski IS a child rapist! He admitted to raping a child!"

It is obvious to me, in reading these articles, that to the people who are defending Roman Polanski, the phrase "child molester" means something other than "a person who has molested a child" - that's the crux of the problem, and that's what I want to talk about here.
post:meta  opinion:interesting  author:thingswithwings  journal:entry  @DW  yakyakyak:politics  yakyakyak:sexuality 
september 2011 by scorpionvoices
Sooner Or Later - helens78 - X-Men: First Class (2011), X-Men (Movies) [Archive of Our Own]
In a world where everyone finds their soulmate when they're just hitting puberty, it can be lonely to grow up without that connection. Then again, it can be just as lonely to grow up always knowing your soulmate's out there, and being told you're too young to meet him. [4422]
fic  u:marvel  m:x-men1&2&3  m:x-men:firstclass  au:society  skewed  c:xmen:logan  c:xmen:kitty  trope:partnerbond  theme:angst  theme:love  kink:d/s  opinion:interesting  p:xmen:kitty/logan  genre:het  author:helens78  @ao3  rating:pg-13 
september 2011 by scorpionvoices
True Tales | The Deformity Lover -- By Felice Picano
This isn't a case from Kraft-Ebbing.
If asked,
he'd say he's a normal guy.
For him a chiselled profile is fine,
but handsomer with a speech defect.
poetry  theme:physicaldisability  opinion:interesting  opinion:awesome 
september 2011 by scorpionvoices
thete1: Let's talk about character hate.
Canon? Is not a monolithic mass of perfection for us to gaze upon and worship in every way. You guys haven't thought that for a long time -- assuming you ever *did*. So why is it so hard to accept the idea that [a character's] assholishness might just be crappy canon? We're writing, for the most part, about *very noble people*, people.

Let's just keep that in mind, hmm?
post:meta  thetruthaboutfandom  opinion:interesting  writers.reference  author:te  journal:entry  @lj 
september 2011 by scorpionvoices
matociquala: show me a black as bright as it is hot
Our Heroes are allowed trauma. They're allowed to cry. They're allowed to get mad and helpless. They're allowed to make mistakes and they're allowed to lose.

Sometimes their mistakes get people killed. Sometimes they're put in situations where there is no good answer. I am not sure I've seen another prime time network show of this nature that had the balls to put a character into a situation where he had a choice between two evils, and let him make that choice and then live with the consequences. Do you let a self-aware martyr die, knowingly, to protect another innocent? Is it worth your career to kill somebody who really desperately needs killing?

Sometimes, in fact, they crack. Sometimes they turn into bad cops.
post:meta  tv:criminalminds  post:primer  opinion:interesting  favs:meta  for-kayla  opinion:awesome  @lj 
september 2011 by scorpionvoices
matociquala: i don't care how long it takes; you're not to blame
One of the ongoing thematic threads of the show is that everybody has some sort of trauma, and that that trauma is what makes them akin to the people they hunt. We've got child abuse and torture survivors, no end of Mommy and Daddy Abandonment and Approval and Control Issues, and at least one survivor of extended sexual exploitation and rape.

The rape survivor is a man.

The obvious thing to do, of course, would have been to make that character Elle (who was the team's sexual assault expert, after all.) But then, maybe a little too predictable.

And not what they're after. Because part of the fun here is taking apart stereotypes. That pretty petite woman with the long dark hair is an FBI agent who can kick your ass. The two girly blondes who giggle about cute boys are both hypercompetent women, each with a vicious intellect and well-grounded confidence. The buttoned-down guy in the suit is a loving dad and the glue that binds his team together and keeps them functioning.
tv:criminalminds  post:meta  post:primer  opinion:interesting  yakyakyak:feminism  for-kayla  favs:meta  opinion:awesome  @lj 
september 2011 by scorpionvoices
mad maudlin: A City on the Head of a Pin
It was harder to ignore the second time, when consciousness was there to stay. The doctor explaining his injuries to him was very clever and very patient, and optimistic about a full recovery; he felt rather bad that he couldn't pay attention. "Dr. Watson?" she asked eventually. "Are you all right?"

"Fine," John said, staring at her wings.
fic  tv:sherlock  oneshot  c:SH:watson  c:sh:mrs.hudson  c:SH:holmes  trope:wingfic  style:philosophical  opinion:interesting  genre:drama  genre:gen  author:madmaudlin  for-kayla  opinion:awesome  rating:pg-13  @lj 
august 2011 by scorpionvoices
Alchemy Alice - Bifurcation
Summary: The first thing Erik notices about Charles, after he’s gotten over the shock of there being someone, anyone who is in any way like Erik himself, is that metal hums around him.

A/N: this is is my contribution to the Wanted crossover subgenre, and is drawn from a couple of prompts, primarily this one from [info]1stclass_kink : "Charles has a killer in his head and he's not afraid to use him. Wesley doesn't mind letting Charles take the reigns in between the fun parts as long as he gets some action so it all works out. Cue BAMF!Charles/Wesley action!" and also this one from [info]xmen_firstkink : "Charles has terrible insomnia. When he's "asleep"? He's Wesley Gibson (McAvoy from Wanted). Basically, we're talking Charles with Fight Club-style fugue states, and when he's not Charles, he's Wesley, complete with bullet bending, time slowing and rapid healing. And assassinating!" [~9500]
fic  au:fusion  trope:oneandthesame  theme:DID  theme:friendship  theme:firstkiss  theme:selfrescue  theme:angst  happyending  for-kayla  rating:pg-13  u:marvel  m:x-men:firstclass  m:wanted  c:wanted:wesley  opinion:interesting  p:xmen:charles/erik  genre:slash  a:alchemyalice  @lj  c:xmen:charles  c:xmen:erik  c:xmen:raven 
august 2011 by scorpionvoices
cupiscent: and miles to go before I sleep
There was something niggling at Erik, though, and he stared at Charles, mulling it over, until an eyebrow lifted over those bright blue eyes. "You're so fucking helpful all the time," Erik stated, "because it irritates you when people are irritated."

Charles blinked, but his face didn't really twitch, and of course, you'd become an old hand never giving away a thing, when you might be in danger of responding to something no one had said aloud. A masterpiece of bland, Erik could appreciate that, it was just a little disappointing to have it turned upon him.
fic  missingscene  theme:roadtrip  theme:friendship  characterstudy  opinion:awesome  rating:pg-13  u:marvel  m:x-men:firstclass  c:xmen:charles  c:xmen:erik  opinion:interesting  genre:gen  author:cupiscent  @lj 
july 2011 by scorpionvoices
quigonejinn | Lion-Eyes.
She is sitting next to Charles. They are eating breakfast the drawing room in the west wing, and she is idly chewing on a crust of toast when the maid brings the mail in. No postcards from Charles's mother, and no presents either, but there is a letter with a big red wax seal and a capital H. Charles reaches for it, and Raven settles into her chair for a bit of listening to whatever --

Raven Darkholme

"I didn't know that was your last name," Charles says inside her mind because the maid is still there.

"I didn't know either," she says back, inside her head.

Raven Darkholme
The Bedroom With Stars and Birds in the Wallpaper
America
fic  u:marvel  m:x-men:firstclass  b:harrypotter  crossover  opinion:interesting  c:xmen:raven  c:xmen:charles  theme:family  theme:friendship  characterstudy  genre:gen  r:pg  a:quigonejinn  @DW  style:fivethings 
june 2011 by scorpionvoices
liviapenn: Kirk, Spock, Bones & Uhura: the new OT4
The point I was going to make to wee_warrior, though, is that if you watched the movie and came away thinking of Uhura as "just a love interest" then you totally missed out on her dynamic with *Kirk*, which is now right up there with the classic Spock-Bones relationship in terms of being important to the franchise.

And the thing is? If you dismiss Uhura as "just a love interest" then you absolutely need to also dismiss Bones as "just a BFF" who is only there to emotionally support Kirk during the Kobayashi Maru, sneak Kirk aboard the Enterprise, and defend Kirk to Spock when he's not there to do it himself. So basically, he literally does nothing, either on a character OR a plot-related level, that isn't about serving Kirk's emotional or plot-related needs in some way.
post:meta  u:startrek  m:startrek09  yakyakyak:feminism  p:startrek:spock/uhura  p:startrek:kirk/mccoy  ot4  opinion:interesting  author:liviapenn  opinion:awesome  @lj 
june 2011 by scorpionvoices
The Loneliness of the Military Historian -- Margaret Atwood
Instead of this, I tell
what I hope will pass as truth.
A blunt thing, not lovely.
The truth is seldom welcome,
especially at dinner,
though I am good at what I do.
My trade is courage and atrocities.
I look at them and do not condemn.
I write things down the way they happened,
as near as can be remembered.
I don’t ask why, because it is mostly the same.
Wars happen because the ones who start them
think they can win.
poetry  theme:war  yakyakyak:feminism  opinion:interesting  @lj 
june 2011 by scorpionvoices
hackthis: On Raylan Givens.
There was totally court mandated therapy for Raylan's family. "Use your words"? That's totally some therapist shit.
author:hackthis  journal:entry  tv:justified  c:justified:raylan  post:meta  opinion:interesting 
april 2011 by scorpionvoices
pick-up lines for feminists -- Lesley Kartali
how do you
subtly ask for digits
while still making it
perfectly clear
that you are fine
being alone
and are certainly
not buying into the idea
that women are worthless
without a significant other?
poetry  yakyakyak:feminism  opinion:interesting  @lj 
january 2011 by scorpionvoices
Cuban Tree Frog, Florida
This is a Cuban tree frog on a tree in my backyard in southern Florida. How and why he ate this light is a mystery. It should be noted that at the time I was taking this photo, I thought this frog was dead, having cooked himself from the inside. I'm happy to say I was wrong. After a few shots he adjusted his position. So after I was finished shooting him, I pulled the light out of his mouth and he was fine. Actually, I might be crazy but I don't think he was very happy when I took his light away.
@nationalgeographic  opinion:interesting  art:photography  art:wallpaper 
january 2011 by scorpionvoices
empy: The Body Electric
The next time Jarvis spoke, it startled him.

"Sir, the current process is idl--"

"Don't do that," he snapped, then regretted it.

"Sir?" There seemed to be something more than a mild inquisitive tone in the modulated voice. Surprise, and something that was almost a shade of worry.

Why had he programmed in so many little subroutines, all those little idiosyncrasies that suddenly showed up and spooked the hell out of people not used to Jarvis?

Because deep down, you want it to be something more than just a system.
fic  u:marvel  m:ironman  c:ironman:tony  c:ironman:jarvis  theme:seduction  theme:angst  kink:xenophilia  p:ironman:jarvis/tony  genre:slash  rating:r  author:empy  opinion:interesting  @lj 
november 2010 by scorpionvoices
Quest - ellnyx - Final Fantasy XII [Archive of Our Own]
Moogles live in numbers, five, eight, six, but never less than three and never more than nine. First of five, or fourth of eight , or third of three, much of a Moogle's assurance, ability and efficiency is granted by the grace of knowing who they are and where they stand.

Their shame springs from the same source. Montblanc is first of one, and ninth of nothing. [6958]
fic  g:FFXII  pre-series  c:ff12:montblanc  c:ff12:krjn  minorcharacters  unusualpairing  kink:xenophilia  characterstudy  worldbuilding  opinion:interesting  theme:grief  theme:transformation  theme:angst  genre:het  rating:nc-17  author:ellnyx  @AO3  favs:ffxii  o:beautiful 
september 2010 by scorpionvoices
sex is not the enemy : Re: male gaze
I know, I know, market forces and all that, they’re assuming all their visitors are male because most of them are, but still, would it kill them to give even a token attempt at acknowledging the other half of the human race?
post:meta  yakyakyak:feminism  opinion:interesting  @sexisnottheenemy  @tumblr 
september 2010 by scorpionvoices
still_ciircee: To Mend A Ragged Seam
Perhaps it was his age, but it took weeks of a tense-looking Gwen and several days of fruitless searching for Merlin to realize something about Camelot: "There are no *toys* in this city," he despaired quietly. [1198]
fic  tv:merlin  c:merlin:merlin  c:merlin:arthur  worldbuilding  characterstudy  opinion:interesting  genre:gen  rating:pg  opinion:sweet  @lj 
september 2010 by scorpionvoices
Glory to the Sin’dorei or ‘Some of the gayest people I know are straight’ « standing at the back in my sissy robe
I always find the bloodelves = gay thing slightly peculiar (I’m going with “slightly peculiar” as opposed to “fucking offensive” which is the alternative). And I know “gay” is essentially WoWspeak for “something I am too stupid to understand in its full complexity” (or, rather, “something I personally don’t like”) but I still think it underscores the implicit toxicity that pervades both the perception and communication of gender and sexuality in WoW. So, we think blood elves are gay because they are feminine. And we think they are feminine because they are vain? That says dreadful things about our attitude to homosexuality AND women. Way to go!
post:meta  humor  yakyakyak:feminism  yakyakyak:gayrights  opinion:interesting 
july 2010 by scorpionvoices
artaxastra: Cats From the Dark Side of the Moon -- Thoughts on Recent History
Now I log on my livejournal in the morning, and I see that the Brits are up, fretting about internships and jobs, school news from Durham and Renault commentary from London. [info]shezan has gotten rid of her old computer monitor in Paris. [info]selenak has thoughts on Alias from Munich. In Sweden the weather is finally fine, and in Finland there is to be a very exciting concert soon.

And [info]bwinter has posted cute pictures of her cats.

It takes me a moment sometimes for it to come into focus, as I type a comment that yes, they are cute. I am looking at cats in Warsaw. Cats from the dark side of the moon.
post:meta  journal:entry  yakyakyak:history  opinion:interesting  reaction:thinky  a:artaxastra  @lj 
july 2010 by scorpionvoices
Couldn’t Give It Away «
So, as it always is with patriachy, almost everything is a no-win situation. Abstinence puritanism lives right next door to compulsory heterosexuality, working to completely eliminate alternatives and choices for women to express an authentic personal sexuality, and instead penalizing any choice but the stifling “correct” one: to wait, but only as long as appropriate, and then be sexual on command with an approved partner.
yakyakyak:feminism  yakyakyak:asexuality  blog  opinion:interesting  yakyakyak:sexuality 
july 2010 by scorpionvoices
20 truths, by Hey-Diddle-Diddle
6. Iruka bests Jiraiya once, and only once. Jiraiya later says it was a dirty trick, and Iruka says he won't ever do it again. After all, it's not easy to fake your own death.

7. Jiraiya and Iruka sleep together a grand total of once. They're not drunk, and they're not caught up in a fit of mad passion. Afterwards, Jiraiya coughs, and Iruka shrugs. They never talk about it.
fic  an:naruto  naruto:iruka  naruto:jiraiya  theme:friendship  theme:grief  onetime  opinion:interesting  unusualpairing  genre:slash  style:fivethings  rating:pg-13  @narutoarchive 
june 2010 by scorpionvoices
Hear me Roar: Dane Cook -- turning a corner?
"I’m pretty sure if I talked to a woman who’s been through that horrific situation and I said, 'What was it like you know being raped?' She’s not gonna look at me and go ,'Have you ever played Halo?'”
yakyakyak:feminism  opinion:interesting 
june 2010 by scorpionvoices
Yes, You Can Drink While Pregnant | Parenting Squad
Basically, pregnant women can't be trusted to know where moderate drinking ends and heavy drinking begins, so let's tell them all not to drink.
yakyakyak:health  yakyakyak:feminism  opinion:interesting  article 
june 2010 by scorpionvoices
Gluten-Free Goddess | Recipes: Spring Millet with Carrots, Mushrooms and Mint
Fairy tales about feminine obedience and compliance in practicing our household chores (a skill set valued prior to Helen Gurley Brown) instructed us -pre-kindergarten- that the dutiful are not only more comely than their whining, snarky counterparts, in the end- when push comes to shove- the gallant and toothsome Prince will actually prefer duty and obedience. We are persuaded that if we are patient and kind and willingly clean out the ashes in the fireplace, he will pick us. The good girl. The exiled Princess missing a slipper.
post:meta  fairytale  yakyakyak:feminism  opinion:interesting  blog 
march 2010 by scorpionvoices
x2darklord: An Immortal Mortal
2. Contrary to popular belief, Naruto and Kyuubi’s soul are not tied or linked together; instead the Cage that holds Kyuubi prisoner is powered by Naruto’s lifeline. So, if Naruto dies, the Cage fails and Kyuubi becomes free. But since Naruto cannot die, the Cage will always be powered and Kyuubi will always be a prisoner. Theoretically speaking, of course.
fic  an:naruto  pre-series  naruto:naruto  worldbuilding  opinion:interesting  humor  genre:gen  theme:angst  style:fivethings  rating:pg-13  @lj 
february 2010 by scorpionvoices
Essential reads in literary fantasy « Enter the Octopus
I know that there’s been a good many attempts to quantify a “canon” of fantastic literature, but why should we let that stop us now? When I say “quality” fantasy literature, what comes to mind, and why? Let’s say you give me five good examples. After a while, I’ll wade in and give you mine.
list  blog  opinion:interesting  reference 
october 2009 by scorpionvoices
umad learns sumerian
"I want to learn Sumerian," she said. "A ton of the stuff that's really old and important for research is in it, and I can never find translations." The rest of them don't think about it but one of these days life or death is going to come down to having someone who can read cuneiform. And she'll be ready.
fic  tv:buffythevampireslayer  c:btvs:dawn  worldbuilding  opinion:interesting  genre:gen  quality:good  episoderelated  rating:pg-13  @privatearchive 
june 2009 by scorpionvoices
gaara & sand village; drier than death valley & 2x as dull
Natives of Hidden Sand are easy to spot, even without the sigil etched onto their headbands. It's not quite the way they speak -- although their vowels are curiously flat, and there are several idiosyncrasies in syntax that the rest of the world has long since abandoned -- and it is not the way they look that singles them out. There is, perhaps, a lack of the old and infirm, but only someone who is not a shinobi would find this peculiar at all.
ficlet  an:naruto  naruto:gaara  worldbuilding  length:short  genre:gen  rating:pg  opinion:interesting  opinion:awesome  @lj 
august 2008 by scorpionvoices
That Gorram Fox, a Yu Yu Hakusho fanfic
With his human life now centuries distant, Kurama finds a new home with the one crew in the 'verse that attracts as much trouble as Yuusuke.
fic  an:yuyuhakusho  crossover  tv:firefly  c:yyh:kurama  c:firefly:river  c:firefly:mal  favs:crossover  ficfromThePit  opinion:awesome  rating:pg-13  genre:drama  opinion:interesting  genre:gen 
january 2008 by scorpionvoices
Refuge
The crew of the Serenity take a load of colonists to their new home. It's not as easy as it sounds.
fic  tv:firefly  crossover  b:barrayar  theme:futurefic  genre:gen  opinion:interesting  opinion:awesome  note:retag 
january 2008 by scorpionvoices

related tags

@ao3  @cracked  @dw  @lj  @narutoarchive  @nationalgeographic  @privatearchive  @sexisnottheenemy  @tumblr  @yuletide  a:alchemyalice  a:artaxastra  a:quigonejinn  an:naruto  an:yuyuhakusho  art  art:fanart  art:photography  art:wallpaper  article  au:fusion  au:justalittledifferent  au:society  author:cupiscent  author:ellnyx  author:empy  author:hackthis  author:helens78  author:liviapenn  author:madmaudlin  author:makesmewannadie  author:manic_intent  author:parhelion  author:sam_storyteller  author:saucery  author:te  author:thingswithwings  author:tsukinofaerii  author:waketosleep  author:wreathsandbells  b:barrayar  b:harrypotter  b:hismajesty'sdragon  b:stardust  blog  c:avengers:clint  c:avengers:ensemble  c:avengers:steve  c:batman:batman  c:batman:bruce  c:btvs:dawn  c:btvs:xander  c:ff12:balthier  c:ff12:basch  c:ff12:krjn  c:ff12:montblanc  c:firefly:mal  c:firefly:river  c:h50:danny  c:h50:steve  c:hmd:mei  c:hmd:temeraire  c:ironman:jarvis  c:ironman:tony  c:justified:raylan  c:marvel:coulson  c:merlin:arthur  c:merlin:merlin  c:naru:ibiki  c:naru:naruto  c:naru:sandaime  c:SH:holmes  c:sh:mrs.hudson  c:SH:watson  c:spn:castiel  c:spn:dean  c:spn:gabriel  c:spn:sam  c:startrek:gaila  c:wanted:wesley  c:xmen:charles  c:xmen:erik  c:xmen:kitty  c:xmen:logan  c:xmen:raven  c:yyh:kurama  case-file  challenge:yuletide  characterstudy  co:Batman  comics  crossover  episoderelated  fairytale  favs:btvs/ats  favs:crossover  favs:ffxii  favs:meta  fic  ficfromThePit  ficlet  for-cindy  for-hannah  for-kayla  g:FFXII  genre:drama  genre:gen  genre:het  genre:pre-slash  genre:slash  gretachristina  happyending  humor  Ihavenotagsforthis  journal:entry  kink:d/s  kink:powers  kink:xenophilia  legends  length:short  list  lolz.forever  m:Avengers12  m:ironman  m:startrek09  m:thor  m:wanted  m:x-men1&2&3  m:x-men:firstclass  meta  minor!death  minorcharacters  missingscene  mythology  naruto:gaara  naruto:iruka  naruto:jiraiya  naruto:kakashi  naruto:naruto  note:retag  o:beautiful  oneshot  onetime  opinion:awesome  opinion:creepy  opinion:interesting  opinion:sad  opinion:sweet  original!fic  originalfic  ot4  p:ff12:balthier/basch  p:h50:danny/steve  p:ironman:jarvis/tony  p:marvel:clint/coulson  p:marvel:steve/tony  p:spn:castiel/dean  p:spn:gabriel/sam  p:startrek:kirk/mccoy  p:startrek:spock/uhura  p:teenwolf:derek/stiles  p:xmen:charles/erik  p:xmen:kitty/logan  pairing:an:iruka/kakashi  photography  poetry  post:meta  post:primer  pre-series  primer  quality:good  r:pg  rating:nc-17  rating:pg  rating:pg-13  rating:r  reaction:thinky  reference  shenanigans  skewed  style:cliffhanger  style:fivethings  style:philosophical  theme:afterlife  theme:aftermath  theme:angst  theme:asexuality  theme:competency!!!  theme:crimeisthenewblack!  theme:DID  theme:fairytale  theme:family  theme:first-time  theme:firstkiss  theme:fixing  theme:friendship  theme:futurefic  theme:grief  theme:h/c  theme:injury  theme:love  theme:physicaldisability  theme:roadtrip  theme:scars  theme:secrets  theme:seduction  theme:selfrescue  theme:snark  theme:superpowers  theme:team!  theme:timetravel  theme:transformation  theme:unrequited  theme:war  theme:werewolves  thetruthaboutfandom  trope:oneandthesame  trope:partnerbond  trope:sexswap  trope:wingfic  tv:buffythevampireslayer  tv:criminalminds  tv:dexter  tv:firefly  tv:hawaii5-0  tv:justified  tv:merlin  tv:sga  tv:sherlock  tv:supernatural  tv:teenwolf  u:DC  u:marvel  u:startrek  unusualpairing  worldbuilding  writers.reference  yakyakyak:asexuality  yakyakyak:feminism  yakyakyak:gayrights  yakyakyak:health  yakyakyak:history  yakyakyak:politics  yakyakyak:racism  yakyakyak:religion  yakyakyak:sexism  yakyakyak:sexuality  yakyakyak:stereotypes 

Copy this bookmark:



description:


tags: