robertogreco + opinion   48

Can Schools Act as a Force Against Racism? (Deb Meier)
"Can schools act as a force against racism? Truly, I don't know for sure. But if they could, it wouldn't primarily be because of the official curriculum offered. Of course, knowing the truth might help. But we ignore most of what we "learn" in school if it doesn't lead us into a different path of living, experiencing, knowing in an everyday sense. That's why we can learn science without it penetrating our daily observations. The old truth will do for the moment. The Sun does appear to rise each morning."
schools  hierarchy  race  power  opinion  deborahmeier  2014  curriculum  education  democracy  racism  experience  change  changemaking  via:Taryn 
december 2014 by robertogreco
Why Must We Care « Hannah Arendt Center for Politics and Humanities
"What N+1 embraces is truth over opinion and escapism against engagement with others. What they forget, however, is that there are two fundamentally opposed routes to truth.

In one, the truthseeker turns away from the world of opinion. The world in which we live is a world of shadows and deceptions. Truth won’t be found in the marketplace of ideas, but on the mountaintop in the blinding light of the sun. Like Plato’s philosopher king, we must climb out of the cave and ascend to the heights. Alone, turned toward the heavens and the eternal truths that surf upon the sunrays, we open ourselves to the experience of truth.

A second view of truth is more mundane. The truthseeker stays firmly planted in the world of opinion and deception. Truth is a battle and it is fought with the weapons of words. Persuasion and rhetoric replace the light of the sun. The winner gains not insight but power. Truth doesn’t emerge from an experience; truth is the settled sentiment of the most persuasive opinion.

Both the mountain path and the road through the marketplace are paths to truth, but of different kinds. Philosophers and theologians may very well need to separate themselves from the world of opinion if they are to free themselves to experience truth. Philosophical truths, as Hannah Arendt argues, address “man in his singularity” and are thus “unpolitical by nature.” For her, philosophy and also philosophical truths are anti-political.

Politicians cannot concern themselves with absolute truths; they must embrace the life of the citizen and the currency of opinion rather than the truths of the philosopher. In politics, “no opinion is self-evident,” as Arendt understood. “In matters of opinion, but not in matters of [philosophical] truth, our thinking is discursive, running as it were, from place to place, from one part of the world to another, through all kinds of conflicting views, until it finally ascends from these particularities to some impartial generality.” In politics, truth may emerge, but it must go through the shadows that darken the marketplace.

What Arendt understands about political truths is that truths do indeed “circulate” in messy and often uncomfortable ways that the n+1 editorial board wishes to avoid. Political thought, Arendt argues, “is representative.” By that she means that it must sample as many different viewpoints and opinions as is possible. “I form an opinion by considering a given issue from different viewpoints, by making present to my mind the standpoints of those who are absent; that is, I represent them.” It is in hearing, imagining, and representing opposing and discordant views that one comes to test out his or her own views. It is not a matter of empathy, of feeling like someone else. It is rather an imaginative experiment in which I test my views against all comers. In this way, the enlarged mentality of imaginative thinking is the prerequisite for judgment."



"It is easy to deride political opinion and idolize truth. But that is to forget that “seen from the viewpoint of politics, truth has a despotic character.”

Political thinking requires that we resist both the desire to fight opinions with violence and the desire to flee from opinions altogether. Instead, we need to learn to think in and with others whose opinions we often hate. We must find in the melee of divergent and offending opinions the joy that exists in the experience of human plurality. We don’t need to love or agree with those we find offensive; but so long as they are talking instead of fighting, we should respect them and listen to them. Indeed, we should care about them and their beliefs. That is why the N+1 manifesto for not caring [http://nplusonemag.com/rage-machine ] is your weekend read."
truth  listening  opinion  opinions  messiness  hannaharendt  via:steelemaley  2014  philosophy  politics  understanding  coexistence  empathy  plurality  humanism  caring  relationships 
february 2014 by robertogreco
Why Do Women Disapprove of Drone Strikes So Much More Than Men Do? - Alexis C. Madrigal - The Atlantic
"When it comes to drones, men are from Mars and women are from some other planet not named after the Roman God of perpetual war."
drones  droneproject  2013  alexismadrigal  gender  policy  opinion 
july 2013 by robertogreco
What parents really think about school reform
"*Fifty-eight percent of parents polled  said they view public schools as the single most important institution for the future of their community and of their nation.

*The two biggest problems facing public schools are too much testing and too little funding — both at 32 percent. Third on the list is large class sizes (23 percent), fourth is lack of support for teachers (17 percent) and fifth, poor teacher quality (16 percent).

*Fifty-seven percent said testing has taken away too much time from teaching and learning.

*Sixty-four percent said standardized tests given by their state do not accurately measure student achievement.

*Sixty-eight percent of parents are satisfied with their children’s public schools, including 66 percent of parents with children in urban schools and 62 percent of parents with incomes under $50,000.

*Seventy-six percent oppose reduced funding for traditional public schools to increase spending on public charter schools."
education  opinion  publicopinion  2013  polls  parents  community  publicschools  edreform  policy  politics  choice  teaching  learning  testing  standardizedtesting  charterschools 
july 2013 by robertogreco
Meta is Murder. Writing and lesser things by Mills Baker. Look at the masterpiece, and not at the frame —....
Look at the masterpiece, and not at the frame — and not at the faces of other people looking at the frame.

"Vladimir Nabokov in his lectures on Russian literature, opposing the primary type of academic and popular criticism: what we might call the demographic-reactive type. The overwhelming majority of opinion derives less from any internal response to a work of art (or political idea or cultural trend) than from what sorts of reactions we imagine on other faces looking at the frame, as it were.

If we’re observant, we see that when we encounter something we have often hardly finished perceiving it when we begin to imagine how others might react, and how still others would react to that reaction, and only at last do we begin to react according to our own demographic allegiances or resentments. We carry our friends, but still more our enemies, with us in every judgment."
millsbaker  judgement  bias  criticism  2013  trends  self  allegiances  reactions  internet  opinions  opinion  frame  framing  selfhood  theself  performance  witoldgombrowicz  vladimirnabokov  swarming  flocking  hivemind 
march 2013 by robertogreco
Designing Culture | Jacobin
“Design is one of the linchpins of capitalism, because it makes alienated labor possible.”

"My main beef with that definition is that after a year in a postgraduate design program and too many hours spent between stacks of anthropology textbooks, I still can’t figure out what “form” and “culture” even mean.

design is subject to the same limitations as any other so-called creative practice, and designers are no more authors than, well, authors are.

Yes, everyone buys too much shit and poor people get exploited in the process, but forty-two years after Baudrillard’s Consumer Society we know it’s not that simple. The ideas of waste and need are monumentally more complicated than a lot of leftists are willing to admit. Who can I trust to tell me which of my needs are real? How can I know whether I’m wasting money or investing in symbolic capital?

Design’s real power is that it makes relationships and divisions between people concrete. Without physical stuff to remind us of how we supposedly differ from one another, our hierarchies would be awfully ramshackle; stripped of our possessions, categories like “class” start to look like just a bunch of learned behaviors and confused ideas.

The point would not be lost on a five-year-old, who would realize immediately that compared to her brother’s LEGOs, hers look like they were made for an idiot.

Spatial arrangements of objects in the home, for example, or the use of different farming tools at different times of year, come to stand for intangible relationships between genders, social strata and the like, thereby anchoring abstract ideas about social organization to the physical world.

Homewares companies started designing extra-low-quality furniture and crockery and marketing them to the rich as items for their servants to use, the idea being that anyone who ate and slept on stuff that bad couldn’t help but know their place.

But it wasn’t particularly important whether the servants were savvy to the situation or not, because their employers had fulfilled their real goal: they’d successfully created material environments that reassured them that they were better than the people who worked for them, which enabled them to keep acting like they actually were better.

Once you realize that all designed objects carry this sort of encrypted information about the organization of society, something amazing happens: you suddenly stop feeling bored in home furnishings stores.

Maybe the problem with designers who boast that they are “giving form to culture” is that they don’t realize how big a responsibility they’re claiming. …

That’s not to say that designers are powerless. Far from it. They occupy a nodal position in the capitalist mode of production, and they’ll be important for getting out of it. Stuff – objects, spaces, images, technologies – play just as critical a role in restructuring relations between people as they do in maintaining them, and a solar cooker or a free software application requires way more design work than a Philippe Starck lemon squeezer. But any kind of progressive work is difficult if we’re deluded about what we actually do. As designers, we’d do well to abandon preoccupations with our own ability to generate solutions, and start being more aware of the ways that we participate in the problems."
society  influence  power  history  pierrebourdieu  lego  industrialdesign  constraints  purpose  colinmcswiggen  via:litherland  2012  opinion  culture  politics  capitalism  consumerism  design  baudrillard  from delicious
september 2012 by robertogreco
Museum of Possibilities - a set on Flickr
"The city of Montréal needed designs to help inaugurate a public space within the new urban development of the Quartier des Spectacles, generating public interest in the vision & future of the area.

The ‘Museum of Possibilities’ was created for one day during Montréal’s city-wide open day for Museums. Members of the public could pick up a piece of paper & write down what they would like to have happen in that space in the future. Visitors entered the field of balloons to add an ‘entry’ to the museum of possible things which might happen on site. People also received a set of stickers so they could wander through the Museum of Possibilities & add a vote of approval for possible future events. This voting helped to turn ‘possibilities’ into probabilities & gave the client concrete data on public interest.

A collaboration w/ Melissa Mongiat, Mouna Andraos & Amélie Bilodeau, May 2010

www.livingwithourtime.com "
crowdsourcing  twitter  publicspace  designresearch  possibility  livingwithourtime  mounaandraos  améliebilodeau  montreal  opinion  imagination  balloons  museums  culture  community  the2837university  agitpropproject  from delicious
february 2011 by robertogreco
Loudest Voice = Majority Opinion — PsyBlog
"The default assumption that we generally have is that the person who speaks loudest in a group represents their opinions. So, we think Glenn Beck accurately represent the opinions of conservatives in the US, for example. And so, if you disagree with someone in your group, you should say so, loudly, because otherwise people will assume you agree." Summary from here: http://o-song.tumblr.com/post/2169269977/uncertainty-whales-touch-loudest-published-spark
psychology  communication  social  opinion  research  politics  power  democracy  from delicious
december 2010 by robertogreco
Why Do They Hate Us? - Advice - The Chronicle of Higher Education
“There are, of course, many other, less prominent reasons for the current anti-faculty climate. But perhaps it is enough to say that the reason we feel more ‘hated’ than ever is that we deserve it. Instead of collaborating, we competed with each other. We focused on our research instead of on the needs of undergraduates. We even exploited our graduate students, using their labor to underwrite our privileges, and then we relegated most of them to marginal positions as adjuncts. We waited too long to institute reforms to our profession, and now—after 40 years of inaction—the reforms are going to be forced upon us.” [via: http://ayjay.tumblr.com/post/1218832737/there-are-of-course-many-other-less-prominent]
education  highereducation  highered  academia  tenure  opinion  economics  colleges  universities  faculty  teaching  research  from delicious
october 2010 by robertogreco
The Trouble With Teens | China Power
"Having skipped tumultuous teenage years, Chinese are forever doomed to live as teenagers all their lives. Whereas Americans may be stubborn, moody, quick to anger, insecure, impetuous, condescending, extreme, & paranoid in teenage years, Chinese may suffer from these psychological issues all their lives. The psychologists who wrote Reviving Ophelia, Raising Cain, & Real Boys may not be happy w/ how American families & schools are distorting emotional development of children, but if they came to China they’d faint in horror & despair."

[via http://twitter.com/janchip/status/15102206749 "wobbly sociology+sterotypes and/but interesting" ]
china  education  opinion  social  teens  youth  empathy  independence  self  identity  parenting  schools  tcsnmy  chinese  unschooling  deschooling  lcproject  adolescence  management  business  cooperation  collaboration  aynrand  narcissism  well-being  socialemotionallearning  culture  students  us  socialemotional 
may 2010 by robertogreco
Why I won't buy an iPad (and think you shouldn't, either) - Boing Boing
"If you want to live in the creative universe where anyone with a cool idea can make it and give it to you to run on your hardware, the iPad isn't for you.
corydoctorow  freedom  hardware  opinion  publishing  journalism  ipad  consumption  comics  closed  business  boingboing  apple  drm  culture  ebooks  internet  technology  open  media 
april 2010 by robertogreco
haters and hecklers - a grammar
"I just want to mention: I don’t think it’s a coincidence that the mainstream adoption of the “hater” idea took place during a decade that also saw a massive explosion in people’s access to one another’s lives and opinions. Because I don’t think we as a culture have yet come up with any particularly great coping mechanisms for that explosion."
haters  heckler  commenting  online  etiquette  criticism  constructivecriticism  opinion  maturity  socialmedia  sharing  exposure  celebrities  bullies 
december 2009 by robertogreco
In Full Flow | Blending work and life – stories of a wired tribe [Education videos]
"During the Reboot conference I collected some stories on education, and since the way we’re taught in school has so much influence on our lives after school, aka work-life, I thought I’d share these stories right here as a side topic of In Full Flow." [from the intro: http://infullflow.net/2009/07/introducing-the-real-stories-on-education/ ] See Euan Semple and Andy Boyd to start.
education  unschooling  deschooling  schooling  schools  learning  opinion  comments  euansemple  stoweboyd  andyboyd  elminewijnia  work  life  homeschool  alternative  montessori  leebryant  flemmingfunch  jonathanmarks  peterrukavina  henrietteweber  lcproject  tcsnmy  interviews 
august 2009 by robertogreco
How to properly trash this article in a post in the Fray [sidebar to:] Bullies can be stopped, but it takes a village. - By Alan E. Kazdin and Carlo Rotella - Slate Magazine
"How to properly trash this article in a post in the Fray: Start with a homespun heading that positions you as an authentic sensible sort who's had it to up to hear with these pencil-neck intellectuals & their wrongheaded notions: "Horse puckey" will do the trick...First, attack the authors in a general sort of way. You can probably just paste in what you posted about the author of the last online article you disagreed with...Getting down to cases, throw a head-fake toward science...& then go hard the other way, toward personal anecdote...Now, go for the big finish that pulls together all the threads: "That's the obvious & perfect method for dealing with the problem that every single person in the universe employed with complete satisfaction until people like you came along & ruined everything." A coda on the damage to the fiber, fabric, or backbone of our society wrought by seekyuler humaniss w/ advanced degrees is optional."

[via: a comment in: http://joannejacobs.com/2009/08/15/how-to-stop-bullies/ ]
anecdote  writing  humor  sarcasm  bullying  howto  internet  web  commenting  opinion 
august 2009 by robertogreco
Cory Doctorow: When love is harder to show than hate | Technology | guardian.co.uk
"one of the most perverse elements of copyright law: the reality that loving something doesn't confer any right to make it a part of your creative life. The damage here is twofold: first, this privileges creativity that knocks things down over things that build things up. ... Second, this perverse system acts as a censor of genuine upwellings of creativity that are worthy in their own right, merely because they are inspired by another work. ... This isn't a plea for unlimited licence to commercially exploit the creations of others. ... it's a vision of copyright that says that fannish celebration – the noncommercial, cultural realm of expression and creativity that has always accompanied commercial art, but only lately attained easy visibility thanks to the internet – should get protection, too. That once an artist has put their works in our head, made them part of our lives, we should be able to live those lives."
art  law  copyright  opinion  corydoctorow  fanfiction  creativity  via:preoccupations 
may 2009 by robertogreco
Brian Eno - interview with the producer of U2's No Line On The Horizon - Telegraph
"I’m very opinionated. When I was at art college, the teachers who helped me were not the ones I agreed with, or the ones who encouraged me, but the ones who took very strong positions. Because if someone does that, you can find your own position in relation to it: what is it that I don’t agree with? In the studio I want to articulate a position clearly enough so that other people can use it – or chuck it away if they don’t want it...In modern recording one of the biggest problems is that you’re in a world of endless possibilities. So I try to close down possibilities early on. I limit choices. I confine people to a small area of manoeuvre. There’s a reason that guitar players invariably produce more interesting music than synthesizer players: you can go through the options on a guitar in about a minute, after that you have to start making aesthetic & stylistic decisions. This computer can contain a thousand synths, each with a thousand sounds. I try to provide constraints for people."

[via: http://www.37signals.com/svn/posts/1601-im-very-opinionated-when-i-was-at-art-college ]
constraints  brianeno  music  art  computers  creativity  opinion 
march 2009 by robertogreco
First Man of Letters
“It is certain that success naturally confirms us in a favorable opinion of our own abilities. Scarce any man is willing to allot to accident, friendship, and a thousand causes which concur in every event without human contrivance or interposition, the part which they may justly claim in his advancement. We rate ourselves by our fortune rather than our virtues, and exorbitant claims are quickly produced by imaginary merit.”
samueljohnson  humans  opinion  selfimage  ability  assessment  ego  success  fortune  virtue  merit  friendship  chance  luck 
february 2009 by robertogreco
Why I Support Barack Obama - O'Reilly Radar
"Because this is a tech blog, not a political blog, though, I primarily want to address the subject of why members of the technical community should join me in supporting Barack Obama. (The New York Times has made a compelling case based on the broader issues, as has Colin Powell.) I outline four principal reasons: 1. Connected, Transparent Government 2. The Financial Crisis 3. Climate Change 4. Net Neutrality" ... But he also discusses 9/11, The War in Iraq, and the Growth of Authoritarian Government, Abortion, Character, and Competence in Leadership, some at length. Then his responses to comments are also valuable.
technology  internet  government  barackobama  endorsement  elections  2008  timoreilly  opinion  netneutrality  policy  economics  politics  environment 
october 2008 by robertogreco
Madeleine Bunting: Faith. Belief. Trust. This economic orthodoxy was built on superstition | Comment is free | The Guardian
"There is no alternative, went the mantra. Now this corrupt mythology lies in tatters, the crisis of conviction is profound"
economics  religion  crisis  debt  opinion  capitalism  uk  us  via:cityofsound  2008 
october 2008 by robertogreco
The world needs more foxes and fewer hedgehogs [via: http://askpang.typepad.com/relevant_history/2008/08/foxes-hedgehogs.html see also: http://askpang.typepad.com/relevant_history/2008/08/berlin-on-hedge.html]
"Hedgehogs fit what they learn into a world view. Foxes improvise explanations case by case...world needs both but today needs fewer hedgehogs, more foxes...some pundits are better than others...A little knowledge is helpful. Dilettantes...do much better than...[those] who based their judgment on one-page summary of issues. But experts have little advantage over dilettantes...Bad forecasters are consulted more frequently than good ones...more famous the expert, the worse his prognostications...Foxes are better at prediction than hedgehogs because they derive information from many sources, adjust views in line with events, see a range of perspectives on each situation. Hedgehogs have one clear view, seek evidence that confirms that view, have ready explanations for apparent failures of foresight...Effective management teams include both hedgehogs & foxes...modern tendency to appoint hedgehogs and allow them to surround themselves by like-minded hedgehogs is so dangerous"
decisionmaking  predictions  pundits  politics  policy  opinion  analysis  business  journalism  futurism 
august 2008 by robertogreco
The Meming of Life » Dissent done right 1
"It’s easy to generalize the nastiness in your mind, until every silent house on your street seems to harbor a family that wants you strung up. But then we remembered that the tally I just described was ten thumbs up for every thumb down. And as Louise Gendron (senior writer for L’Actualité) reminded me last year, angry people are at least three times more likely to make their POV known than happy or indifferent people. If she gets three angry letters for every one happy letter after an article runs, she assumes the reader response was about even. By that logic, perhaps 3-4 percent of the folks in our neighborhood are likely suspects for the angry notes. But our limbic response pictures the reverse, and two pissy letters become the tip of a 96 percent iceberg of hate."

[part 2 here: http://parentingbeyondbelief.com/blog/?p=463 ]
dissent  opinion  politics  religion  debate  change  voice  society  statistics  logic  limbicresponse  emotions  dalemcgowan 
august 2008 by robertogreco
Marginal Revolution: David R. Henderson asks
"3. A good blog should be subversive and help you see the faults in the author's own positions. Ask whether the blogs you are reading in fact provide that service. Self-subversion ought also, in the long run, to benefit liberty and other important values."
blogging  opinion  criticalthinking  tylercowen  economics  libertarianism  politics  policy 
july 2008 by robertogreco
Saffo: journal - Since the mid-1980s, my mantra for this process is “strong opinions, weakly held....Allow your intuition to guide you to a conclusion, no matter how imperfect -- this is the “strong opinion” part. ”
"...Then --and this is the “weakly held” part-- prove yourself wrong. Engage in creative doubt. Look for information that doesn’t fit, or indicators that pointing in an entirely different direction."
forecasting  future  futurism  opinion  paulsaffo  predictions  flexibility  creativity  information  decisiveness 
july 2008 by robertogreco
Whatever » Reader Request Week 2008 #1: Homeschooling
John Scalzi's riff on homeschooling with an interesting and opinionated conversation in the comments.
homeschool  education  learning  society  opinion  unschooling  deschooling  parenting 
march 2008 by robertogreco
ideasonideas » Blog Archive » F*** style
"Perhaps we have to see design less like art (which is how I fear it is still classified by many), and more like engineering. The data and ability to measure results exists. We simply have to put hard analysis ahead of our personal impulses."
advertising  design  graphic  marketing  engineering  critique  publishing  trends  innovation  opinion  style 
february 2008 by robertogreco
The OLPC Design Critics --- From Texas and Serbia | Beyond the Beyond from Wired.com
"I hope I'm proven wrong about the glum political assessments that I make here -- but that groovy little doodad is very Washington Consensus, and this is just not a Washington Consensus world. Not any more."
brucesterling  olpc  djspooky  video  mobile  phones  jasminatesanovic  criticism  politics  policy  government  education  children  mit  serbia  china  hardware  design  opinion  software 
february 2008 by robertogreco
A School That's Too High on Gizmos
""technolust" -- a disorder affecting publicity-obsessed school administrators nationwide that manifests itself in an insatiable need to acquire the latest, fastest, most exotic computer gadgets, whether teachers and students need them or want them"
1to1  criticism  edtech  technology  schools  money  trends  administration  leadership  learning  education  opinion  laptops  1:1 
february 2008 by robertogreco
PresidentialWatch08 » Map
"Access our map of the 292 influential sites making the debate on the presidential race. See how the different political communities are represented on the Internet. Identify the true opinion hubs and shapers in the debate."
2008  elections  visualization  trends  us  opinion  blogging  blogs  datamining  media  journalism  statistics  hyperlinks  maps  mapping  politics  infographics  semanticweb 
january 2008 by robertogreco
A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan... (kottke.org)
"...an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations...Specialization is for insects."
generalists  work  specialists  literature  opinion  specialization 
january 2008 by robertogreco
Kevin Kelly -- The Technium: Believing the Impossible
"The Wikipedia has changed my mind, a fairly steady individualist, and lead me toward this new social sphere. I am now much more interested in both the new power of the collective, and the new obligations stemming from individuals toward the collective."
wikipedia  change  kevinkelly  opinion  edge  society  collective  gamechanging  socialsoftware  creation  ethics  evolution  technium  collectiveintelligence  knowledge  learning  social  trends  freedom 
january 2008 by robertogreco
Obey Plagiarist Shepard Fairey
"Fairey has carefully nurtured reputation as heroic guerilla street artist waging one man campaign against corporate powers-that-be. Infantile posturing aside, Fairey’s art is problematic for another, more troubling reason - that of plagiarism."
artist  obey  plagiarism  sampling  design  critique  copyright  opinion  shepardfairey 
november 2007 by robertogreco
The Happiness Project: One way to try to figure out what someone REALLY thinks.
"To get a person’s real opinion, ask what she thinks everyone else believes…If people truly hold a particular belief, they are more likely to think that others agree or have had similar experiences."
happiness  psychology  lifehacks  opinion  truth 
november 2007 by robertogreco
Comment is free: Stop being paranoid
"The concern about identity theft has moved on to social networking sites; but you could be defrauded anywhere. Stop limiting teenagers' lives"
identity  privacy  safety  facebook  commenting  opinion  teens  youth  online  internet  risk  security  students  schools  parenting 
november 2007 by robertogreco
3quarksdaily: A Case of the Mondays: List of Most Overrated Things
"core curricula. If you care about something you'll take a class in it voluntarily; if you don't, you'll forget everything you learned five years down the line. And private schools at all levels, for being twice as expensive as equally good public schools
education  schools  learning  curriculum  lists  culture  literature  media  television  miscellanea  opinion  philosophy  food  music  contarian  criticism  books  politics 
november 2007 by robertogreco
Pew Internet: Parent and Teen Internet Use
"In looking at parents and teenagers together we found that teens are likely to view technology devices more positively than their parents. Parents and teens tend to own a similar number of technology devices (2-3), but the type of devices differ."
pew  technology  teens  parenting  opinion  internet  web  online  use 
october 2007 by robertogreco
The Future - Forbes.com [front page for multi-article special issue]
"The truth is that people simply aren't very good at predicting the future. It was only two centuries ago that we began to think we could do it at all, and we're still learning. Hindsight may be 20/20, but foresight remains largely blind."
future  futurism  predictions  culture  business  opinion  society 
october 2007 by robertogreco
American lawbreaking: How laws die. - By Tim Wu - Slate Magazine
"This series explores the black spots in American law: areas in which our laws are routinely and regularly broken and where the law enforcement response is … nothing. These are the areas where, for one reason or another, we've decided to tolerate lawbre
law  society  us  history  enforcement  crime  police  politics  legal  immigration  culture  behavior  authority  perception  copyright  drugs  government  research  art  amish  journalism  opinion  philosophy  policy  religion  public  change 
october 2007 by robertogreco
I Hate Young People - Videos
videos of people talking about youth and videos of people talking about older generations
nyc  opinion  people  youth  age  teens  culture  society  ethnography  video 
september 2007 by robertogreco
Half an Hour: Ten Futures (pragmatic web, global intelligence, extended reality, mobility, human grid, smart obejects, holoselves...)
Mobility: "We will again in the future become a species of nomads, moving in tribes and herds through society, grazing on energy and information inputs as they become available."
future  technology  trends  web  web2.0  opinion  emerging  neo-nomads  nomads  mobile 
september 2007 by robertogreco
Walking to the shops ‘damages planet more than going by car’ - Times Online
"Food production is now so energy-intensive that more carbon is emitted providing a person with enough calories to walk to the shops than a car would emit over the same distance."
agriculture  business  cars  climate  CO2  data  debate  ecology  earth  development  efficiency  energy  environment  opinion  skepticism  statistics  sustainability  globalwarming  pollution  population  waste  politics  planet  perspective 
august 2007 by robertogreco
Slap in the Facebook: It's Time for Social Networks to Open Up
"It's time to take our personal data out of Mr. McGregor's little gardens and put it back where it belongs -- free and open on the open web....anyone can create a page that includes all of the fun stuff found in a Facebook profile. (using Flickr, del.icio
attention  blogging  commons  community  criticism  culture  facebook  socialnetworking  socialsoftware  myspace  flickr  del.icio.us  open  opensource  openid  networks  networking  mososo  mobile  internet  iphone  technology  portable  privacy  identity  free  opinion  standards  software  data  socialnetworks  usability  twitter  reading  aggregator  social 
august 2007 by robertogreco
Mandated volunteerism | csmonitor.com
"Schools today require students to log countless hours of community service. It's gotten out of hand."
opinion  communityservice  schools  curriculum  education  learning  criticism 
july 2007 by robertogreco
E-Prime - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
"E-Prime forces a writer to choose verbs and meanings carefully: the elimination of "to be" implicitly eliminates the passive voice and progressive aspect."

[Update 15 Nov 2012: @vruba shared this with me (https://twitter.com/vruba/status/268935185381335040 ), but I did not recognize it. The new opening to the entry is added below.]

"E-Prime (short for English-Prime, sometimes denoted E′) is a version of the English language that excludes all forms of the verb to be. E-Prime does not allow the conjugations of to be—be, am, is, are, was, were, been, being— the archaic forms of to be (e.g. art, wast, wert), or the contractions of to be—'s, 'm, 're (e.g. I'm, he's, she's, they're).

Some scholars advocate using E-Prime as a device to clarify thinking and strengthen writing.[1] For example, the sentence "the film was good" could translate into E-Prime as "I liked the film" or as "the film made me laugh". The E-Prime versions communicate the speaker's experience rather than judgment, making it harder for the writer or reader to confuse opinion with fact."
english  linguistics  language  psychology  writing  philosophy  logic  passivetense  tobe  constraints  communication  prataxis  opinion  fact  judgement  E-prime 
december 2006 by robertogreco

related tags

1:1  1to1  ability  academia  administration  adolescence  advertising  age  aggregator  agitpropproject  agriculture  alexismadrigal  allegiances  alternative  amish  améliebilodeau  analysis  andyboyd  anecdote  apple  art  artist  assessment  attention  attitudes  authority  aynrand  balloons  barackobama  baudrillard  behavior  bias  blogging  blogs  boingboing  books  boredom  brianeno  brucesterling  bullies  bullying  business  capitalism  caring  cars  celebrities  chance  change  changemaking  charterschools  children  chile  china  chinese  choice  climate  climatechange  closed  CO2  coexistence  colinmcswiggen  collaboration  collective  collectiveintelligence  colleges  comics  commenting  comments  commons  communication  community  communityservice  computers  confidence  constraints  constructivecriticism  consumerism  consumption  contarian  controversy  cooperation  copyright  corydoctorow  creation  creativity  crime  crisis  criticalthinking  criticism  critique  crowdsourcing  culture  curriculum  cv  dalemcgowan  data  datamining  debate  deborahmeier  debt  decisionmaking  decisiveness  del.icio.us  democracy  deschooling  design  designresearch  development  dissent  djspooky  drm  droneproject  drones  drugs  E-prime  earth  ebooks  ecology  economics  edge  edreform  edtech  education  efficiency  ego  elections  elminewijnia  emerging  emotions  empathy  endorsement  energy  enforcement  engagement  engineering  english  entitlement  environment  ethics  ethnography  etiquette  euansemple  evolution  experience  exposure  expression  facebook  fact  faculty  fairness  fanfiction  flemmingfunch  flexibility  flickr  flocking  food  forecasting  fortune  frame  framing  free  freedom  friendship  future  futurism  gamechanging  gender  generalists  generations  geny  globalwarming  glvo  government  graphic  groups  handwriting  hannaharendt  happiness  hardware  hate  haters  heckler  henrietteweber  hierarchy  highered  highereducation  history  hivemind  homeschool  howto  humanism  humans  humor  hyperlinks  identity  imagination  immigration  impatience  impulsivity  independence  industrialdesign  influence  infographics  information  innovation  internet  interviews  ipad  iphone  jasminatesanovic  jonathanmarks  journalism  judgement  kevinkelly  knowledge  language  laptops  law  lcproject  leadership  learning  leebryant  legal  lego  libertarianism  life  lifehacks  limbicresponse  linguistics  listening  lists  literature  livingwithourtime  logic  love  luck  management  mapping  maps  marketing  materialism  maturity  media  merit  messiness  millennials  millsbaker  miscellanea  mit  mobile  money  montessori  montreal  mososo  mounaandraos  museums  music  myspace  narcissism  neo-nomads  netneutrality  networking  networks  nomads  nyc  obey  olpc  online  oped  open  openid  opensource  opinion  opinions  overconfidence  parenting  parents  passivetense  paulsaffo  pentagram  people  perception  performance  perspective  peterrukavina  pew  philosophy  phones  pierrebourdieu  plagiarism  planet  plurality  police  policy  politics  polls  pollution  population  portable  portal  possibility  power  prataxis  predictions  privacy  psychology  public  publicopinion  publicschools  publicspace  publishing  pundits  purpose  quotes  race  racism  reactions  reading  relationships  religion  research  respect  risk  safety  sampling  samueljohnson  sarcasm  schooling  schools  security  self  self-awareness  self-esteem  selfhood  selfimage  semanticweb  serbia  sharing  shepardfairey  skepticism  social  socialemotional  socialemotionallearning  socialmedia  socialnetworking  socialnetworks  socialsoftware  society  software  specialists  specialization  standardizedtesting  standards  statistics  stoweboyd  students  style  success  sustainability  swarming  tcsnmy  teaching  technium  technology  teens  television  tenure  testing  the2837university  theself  tiborkalman  timoreilly  tobe  trends  truth  twitter  tylercowen  uk  understanding  universities  unschooling  us  usability  use  values  via:cityofsound  via:litherland  via:preoccupations  via:steelemaley  via:Taryn  video  virtue  visualization  vladimirnabokov  voice  waste  web  web2.0  well-being  wikipedia  witoldgombrowicz  work  writing  youth 

Copy this bookmark:



description:


tags: