noiseguy + opinion   414

Opinion | The Pedestrian Strikes Back - The New York Times
Officials in several countries are getting the message: Cities are about people, not cars.
transportation  opinion 
2 days ago by noiseguy
Opinion | Brexit: The Most Boring Important Story in the World - The New York Times
Nothing ever changes. The details are mind-numbing. And it will all determine the future of the country.
1  opinion  brexit 
2 days ago by noiseguy
Opinion | Is Environmentalism Just for Rich People? - The New York Times
Sometimes it can seem as if only the privileged support the cause. But the truth is more complicated.
opinion  environment 
2 days ago by noiseguy
Opinion | Hate Amazon? Try Living Without It - The New York Times
My dad was a longtime labor activist. He despises what Jeff Bezos built, but he can’t quit it.
1  opinion  amazon 
8 days ago by noiseguy
Opinion | What Straight-A Students Get Wrong - The New York Times
If you always succeed in school, you’re not setting yourself up for success in life.
opinion  education  1 
8 days ago by noiseguy
Opinion | The End of Privacy Began in the 1960s - The New York Times
Choices that Congress made decades ago allowed tech giants to become as powerful as they are.

By Margaret O’Mara
Dr. O’Mara, a professor of history, is the author of a forthcoming book about the history of Silicon Valley.
1  tech  opinion 
12 days ago by noiseguy
Opinion | I’m a Democrat and a Feminist. And I Support Betsy DeVos’s Title IX Reforms. - The New York Times
There is an uncomfortable truth in the current system. No one wants to talk about it.
1  opinion 
13 days ago by noiseguy
Let’s be honest about what’s really driving Brexit: bigotry
The debate has been largely framed in economic terms. But money isn’t enough to explain this ugly chapter in our history
1  opinion  brexit 
16 days ago by noiseguy
A Bloomberg 2020 run would help the left – by failing spectacularly
Progressives should hope the centrist billionaire runs: he would showcase exactly what Democrats shouldn’t do
1  opinion 
16 days ago by noiseguy
Who Will Now Police the Police? - The New York Times
The Justice Department’s retreat from taking on abuses by local law enforcement will impede reform.
opinion 
16 days ago by noiseguy
Opinion | Can We Stop Suicides? - The New York Times
It’s been way too long since there was a new class of drugs to treat depression. Ketamine might be the solution.
opinion  health 
16 days ago by noiseguy
The ticking bomb of climate change is America's biggest threat
It’s time for the United States to treat climate change as the national security challenge it is
opinion  climate.change  1 
16 days ago by noiseguy
Why is no one talking about the uncounted, suppressed votes in Florida?
America has a long history of voter suppression that it seems to be comfortable with – as long as the veneer of democracy is in place
opinion  1 
16 days ago by noiseguy
What’s Trump hiding in the climate report? That global warming’s effects are here
The administration tried to bury the assessment, but as residents flee wildfires and wade through flooded streets, let’s hope decision-makers get the message
opinion  1  climate.change 
16 days ago by noiseguy
We shouldn't rush to save the liberal order. We should remake it
The UN security council, the IMF, the World Bank and the ILO were conceived as agencies of change – they can be again
1  opinion 
16 days ago by noiseguy
Opinion | Will Taiwan Be the First Domino to Fall to China? - The New York Times
Democratic countries that worry about the Chinese government’s attempts to influence their politics should study its success in this weekend’s elections in Taiwan.

The many races — for some 11,000 positions in villages, towns and counties across the island — were something like midterms and widely seen as a prelude to the next presidential election, scheduled for early 2020. By my count, candidates friendly to Beijing will now occupy 16 of the 24 top posts that were contested, up from the current six.
china  opinion  1 
19 days ago by noiseguy
Racism has triumphed once again in Mississippi
In the third part of our series looking at the climate report Trump tried to bury over Thanksgiving, we look at its alarming projections for our water supplies
opinion  1 
19 days ago by noiseguy
The nuclear threat is rising. Europe cannot just stand and watch
The danger is clear with Putin building up his forces, Trump pulling out of treaties and the ever-present terrorist risk
1  opinion 
21 days ago by noiseguy
Tencent’s founder on WeChat and the future of the Chinese Internet - The Washington Post
Pony Ma is founder, chairman and CEO of Tencent, the world’s most valuable social media company. This article is adapted from “China at Your Fingertips,” part of the forthcoming book series, “Understanding China,” edited by Zheng Bijian.
1  opinion  china  tech 
21 days ago by noiseguy
« earlier      
per page:    204080120160

Copy this bookmark:



description:


tags: