infovore + reviews   18

A professional book critic in praise of Amazon reader reviews.
"I’m especially intrigued by reader reviews written by people unfamiliar with the vocabulary of literary criticism. They aim to describe experiences that most of us recognize but that can be hard to articulate, and they have to make up the language for it as they go along." This is a great article on the various assets of reader-reviews, and where they set on the spectrum of criticism.
books  writing  reviews  criticism  literature  internet 
november 2016 by infovore
McSweeney’s Internet Tendency: America: A Review.
"It has some unique perspective every once in awhile, but honestly, America can be super derivative. Most of the stories have already been on The Simpsons."
satire  reviews  mcsweenys  america  tv 
july 2013 by infovore
On Endings - Kill Screen
"There’s still a smell of bullshit to almost every videogame story I read, even as it’s advanced to a very high level being in The New Yorker and The New York Times Magazine. To me it derives from this politeness about the thing that’s experienced. In literary criticism there are really cutting deconstructions of things that are inadequate—Nabokov talking about what a fraud and charlatan Faulkner was—but there’s this really intelligent, but painfully milquetoast, quality to the way we appreciate games. It’s a reflection of how partially engaged we are with each one. We consider games primarily as ideas, rather than actual evolving relationships that we’ve had over time." Yeah, that. I enjoyed this discussion: I'm pretty sure you don't have to finish games to review them. Then again: I also think writing about games six months after they came out is way more interesting than trying to hammer through something to fit into a review cycle.
games  reviews  criticism  killscreen 
april 2012 by infovore
Kill Screen - Review: Duke Nukem Forever
"You also know about the Wait. The Wait is Ahab’s white whale; it is America at Ellis Island; it is the night sky to the Greeks. The Wait is a disgusting amalgam of dreams, memories, hopes, desires, and expectations. In fact, barring all else, this may be the only thing that you know about Duke Nukem." A lovely piece of nostalgia - and review-system-breaking-analysis - from Jamin.
killscreen  review  dukenukemforever  jaminwarren  games  reviews  scores 
august 2011 by infovore
Kill Screen - Infinity Blade Review
If you're going to write a review for a digital medium about a recursive game, this is as good a way as any to do it. Bravo.
games  reviews  infinityblade  killscreen 
may 2011 by infovore
Review: Patrick Stump @ Water Rats | Londonist
"Patrick Stump survived The Scene, then." I went to see Patrick Stump play some music. Then I reviewed it for Londonist.
londonist  patrickstump  music  reviews  writing 
may 2011 by infovore
the hose drawer (tecznotes)
"The pattern we see here is to keep crises small and frequent, as Ed Catmull of Pixar says in an excellent recent talk. When describing the difficulty Pixar's artists had with reviews ("it's not ready for you to look at"), he realized that the only way to break through resistance to reviews was to increase the frequency until no one could reasonably expect to be finished in time for theirs. The point was to gauge work in motion, not work at rest." I liked this quotation, but as usual, the rest of Mike's post is great.
measurement  reviews  process  progress  mikemigurski  streams  hoses 
february 2010 by infovore
YouTube - Avatar Review (Part 1 of 2)
You know the guy who did the 70-minute Phantom Menace review? He went to see Avatar. Yes, it's good.
avatar  video  reviews 
february 2010 by infovore
The Master and His Emissary| Book review | Books | The Guardian
"McGilchrist's suggestion is that the encouragement of precise, categorical thinking at the expense of background vision and experience – an encouragement which, from Plato's time on, has flourished to such impressive effect in European thought – has now reached a point where it is seriously distorting both our lives and our thought. Our whole idea of what counts as scientific or professional has shifted towards literal precision – towards elevating quantity over quality and theory over experience – in a way that would have astonished even the 17th-century founders of modern science, though they were already far advanced on that path." Sharp review of what sounds like a fascinating book; I particularly liked this quotation.
books  brain  psychology  reviews  guardian  science 
january 2010 by infovore
This week's internet reviews | Technology | The Guardian
In which the Guardian links to Noticings - hurrah! - and describes it as "Random I-spy for grown-ups."
guardian  noticings  reviews  vanity 
november 2009 by infovore
Chrono Trigger Review // DS /// Eurogamer - Games Reviews, News and More
"The problem with remakes and ports for the critic, especially those of old beloved games, is emotional baggage. It's difficult to give a cold, measured critique of something you've loved since childhood. How can you give an objective appraisal when every time you hear the game's start-up melody your mind soaks happy in memories of warm endless school holidays, and that delicious, pure, all-encompassing escapism unique to children who play videogames? This game's story is also a part of my story, so it's impossible to get much distance between the two." A lovely paragraph in Simon's review of the DS Chrono Trigger re-release.
games  simonparkin  reviews  chronotrigger  nostalgia  childhood 
november 2008 by infovore
Just What is Innovation Really Worth?
"The point in pointing out these numbers, since we’re throwing out analogies to films and videogame innovation, is that it seems that no matter how well a movie is interpreted as “innovative” by a reviewer, the truest mark of success lies in its ability to inure itself with the consumer." No. Commercial success is just one kind of success, and films like Eraserhead have had a far greater impact on young filmmakers than any amount of box-office smashes. The real rarities are films such as the Godfather or Citizen Kane, which manage to be box-office smashes and innovative masterpiece.
wrong  criticism  innovation  success  games  films  movies  reviews 
november 2008 by infovore
Curmudgeon Gamer: Review: Mirror's Edge
"A man can only eat so many cheap sniper shots, so many deaths by machine gun from over 75 meters away, so many attempts at a final tricky jump to a tiny ledge across a giant gap, so many degrading restarts... Sometimes I hate games so very much." Sadly, much of this is pretty true.
mirrorsedge  games  reviews  criticism  commentary 
november 2008 by infovore
Insult Swordfighting: Gamestop.com User-Submitted Previews: Left 4 Dead
"Oddly, although Left 4 Dead only comes out today, Gamestop.com has already switched from their previews to reviews. You'd think that wouldn't be enough time for their users to appraise the game. You would even think that they'd want to play the full game before trumpeting their thoughts and throwing around phrases like "game of the year." You would be wrong." Mitch is harsh but fair.
mitchkrpata  reviews  left4dead  games  internetpeople 
november 2008 by infovore
Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Denon AKDL1 Dedicated Link Cable
"A caution to people buying these: if you do not follow the "directional markings" on the cables, your music will play backwards. Please check that before mentioning it in your reviews." And so forth. Very funny reviews for a somewhat overpriced product.
denon  cable  satire  amazon  ugc  reviews  crowdsourcing  funny  humour 
june 2008 by infovore
LibraryThing: Happy 1815! Thomas Jefferson is done.
Thomas Jefferson's entire library - and his reviews of books in it - exists as an account on LibraryThing. I'm glad that things like this exist in the world, and that the Internet makes them possible.
awesome  jefferson  librarything  library  books  reading  reviews  culture  history 
january 2008 by infovore
Book Reviews - read, review, share at Revish!
Revish: a site for "reading and sharing your reading experiences". Social, shared, API\d up. Looks interesting.
books  web2.0  reviews  social  software  reading 
april 2007 by infovore

Copy this bookmark:



description:


tags: