infovore + review   34

Review: Tom Phillips’s ‘A Humument’ at Mass MoCA - Theater & art - The Boston Globe
"The notion that an artist’s life project, his crowning glory, should have been a sort of side project, something done in the margins, as it were, while he was busy getting on with the real thing (whatever that was) is to be savored. It expresses an almost universal truth, and says everything about Phillips’s infatuation with whim, chance, and the vicissitudes of choice." Lovely review. Also, gosh, the second edition looks exciting.
ahumument  tomphillips  art  books  review 
august 2013 by infovore
Kill Screen - Review: Duke Nukem Forever
"You also know about the Wait. The Wait is Ahab’s white whale; it is America at Ellis Island; it is the night sky to the Greeks. The Wait is a disgusting amalgam of dreams, memories, hopes, desires, and expectations. In fact, barring all else, this may be the only thing that you know about Duke Nukem." A lovely piece of nostalgia - and review-system-breaking-analysis - from Jamin.
killscreen  review  dukenukemforever  jaminwarren  games  reviews  scores 
august 2011 by infovore
Kill Screen - Review: L.A. Noire
"Cole Phelps has no health bar, no ammo count, and no inventory. He doesn't write journal entries, and has no safe house or property. He doesn't eat, doesn't sleep, doesn't smoke or drink or sleep around or go out with his friends. I have seen nothing of his wife and children, his passions, his hates or his desires. He walks into a crime scene and barks his introductions like a dog, rude and abrasive; petulant and bullying. He carries himself like a child playing dress-up, weak-chinned, pale, and aimlessly angry. Cole Phelps is kind of a prick.

But when I look at what's going on around him, I can't really blame him. What to make of this Truman Show-esque existence, this vast, toothless city? If I were trapped in such a purgatorial nightmare, I'd probably behave badly, too." This is good, and expresses in poetic and critical terms one of the many reasons I just don't care about LA Noire.
killscreen  lanoire  criticism  review  videogames  openworld  hollow 
june 2011 by infovore
Book Review: Reality Is Broken -
"I have been an avid gamer since the advent of Pong in 1972. At their best, videogames strike me as a form of art. Like all art, they can augment outer reality and shape our inner reality—but they do this by the very nature of the fact that they are not reality but a Place Apart. Being awestruck at "Halo" does not entail awe any more than "grieving" for Cordelia entails grief. Rather, art at its most serious is a sort of exercise, a formative practice for life—like meditation, only more fun." WSJ review of Reality is Broken; negative, but acute.
games  books  review  realityisbroken  wallstreetjournal  art 
february 2011 by infovore
Kill Screen - Review: Tetris
Twenty-two lines, ten words a line, just like the blocks.
killscreen  tetris  review 
february 2011 by infovore
So Long 2010, and Thanks for All the Pageviews — Satellite — Craig Mod
"I'd go so far as to say an unarticulated experience or creative process is one left unresolved. By writing about your experience you close the loop, so to speak. When you publish, both the output of the experience (book, software, photographs, etc) and now the ability to replicate that experience is in the hands of your audience. That's a powerful thing. And I can say with absolute clarity, there is as much satisfaction in seeing your experience manifest in others as there is in the creative output alone." Craig's review of the year is marvellous, but this is a particularly salient point, for me, right now.
craigmod  2010  review  making  replication  understanding 
january 2011 by infovore
2010: The Booktwo/STML Yearnotes |
"In the process I came up with “Network Realism” which may or may not have legs, but I think it does and I like it. What it was, of course, was what I’d actually been talking about all year: time, and how it’s just as broken right now as our business models—broken by the network—but what’s interesting is how we’re coming to terms with it, artistically, culturally, and technologically, and what that might mean in the future. 2011 is going to be all about time."

James has had a good year.
stml  jamesbridle  time  yearnotes  review  jollygood 
december 2010 by infovore
LRB · Terry Eagleton · Count the Commas
"Craig Raine’s Heartbreak is a novel in the sense in which Eton is a school near Slough. The description is true but misleading. It is really a collection of short stories, loosely linked by the topic announced in the title; but perhaps because the English are said to be averse to buying such volumes, the publishers have represented it as a novel, rather as Jedward are represented as singers." Yes, this has got a lot of coverage (mainly for that opening sentence) but it's still a powerful piece of criticism from Eagleton.
terryeagleton  literarycriticism  lrb  craigraine  heartbreak  review 
june 2010 by infovore
H. G. Wells on "Metropolis" (1927)
"I suppose there are multitudes of people to be 'drawn' by promising to show them what the city of a hundred years hence will be like. It was, I thought, an unresponsive audience, and I heard no comments. I could not tell from their bearing whether they believed that Metropolis was really a possible forecast or no. I do not know whether they thought that the film was hopelessly silly or the future of mankind hopelessly silly. But it must have been one thing or the other." He did not like it too much.
writing  hgwells  cinema  history  metropolis  sciencefiction  scientificromance  review 
january 2010 by infovore
Panasonic Lumix GF1 Field Test — 16 Days in the Himalayas
"For 16 days I lived with it strapped to me as I climbed through the valleys of central Nepal up to Annapurna Base Camp at 4,200 meters." Wonderful review of the GF1, framed as a travelogue, with real photographs. I'd be quite happy if all camera reviews looked like this.
photography  camera  panasonic  travel  review  gf1 
december 2009 by infovore
Review: Left 4 Dead 2 (Xbox 360)
"To extend the "director" metaphor, Left 4 Dead's AI Director was a bit like Alfred Hitchcock: a master of suspense. Left 4 Dead 2's AI Director (dubbed AI Director 2.0, conveniently enough) is perhaps from a younger generation of "torture porn" filmmakers. In place of suspense is sheer brutality and instead of tiptoeing along the precipice of failure, you're pushed over. And over. And over." Much as I'm enjoying L4D2, I think this is an appropriate metaphor: it's not just that it's hard, it's that it's *relentless*; the suspense of L4D is missing a bit.
games  joystiq  review  l4d2  direction  pace  suspense 
december 2009 by infovore
MIGS: Is Good Marketing Better Than A Good Game? | Edge Online
"Using a simple correlation scale comparing marketing spend and sales against Metacritic rating and sales, Divnich found that marketing influenced game revenue “three times more than game scores”... “There is no compelling reason to focus on quality, you should literally just spend that money and time on marketing.”" I'm not sure he's suggesting this is a /good/ thing, but he is pointing out that it's what the numbers say. It's still depressing.
games  business  marketing  quality  review  metacritic  migs 
november 2009 by infovore
io9 - Michael Bay Finally Made An Art Movie - Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
"So, to sum up: Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen is one of the greatest achievements in the history of cinema, if not the greatest. You could easily argue that cinema, as an artform, has all been leading up to this. It will destabilize your limbic system, probably forever, and make you doubt the solidity of your surroundings. Generations of auteurs have struggled, in vain, to create a cinematic experience as overwhelming, and as liberating, as ROTF." This review is, essentially, amazing, and has elevated ROTF to a must-see for me.
review  io9  scifi  transformers  michaelbay  movies  cinema  film  art  awesome 
june 2009 by infovore
Noby Noby Boy Review - Page 1 // PS3 /// Eurogamer
I was a little excited from the ongoing Offworld love in, but Oli Welsh's review suddenly makes me insanely excited about Keita Takahashi's new plaything. Why is it that all the reasons for me wanting a £300 PS3 are £3 PSN titles?
games  play  review  ps3  eurogamer  nobynobyboy  keitatakahashi  toy 
february 2009 by infovore
Street Fighter IV Review - Page 2 // Xbox 360 /// Eurogamer - Games Reviews, News and More
"...while there will no doubt be a small but vociferous core of Third Strike veterans who cry foul over the series' apparent simplification, they will be vastly outnumbered by those players who get to fall in love again with the Street Fighter of their youth: one that's easy to pick up and play, yet near-impossible to master. As a result this is, in almost every way that matters, the perfect Street Fighter." Very excited. Very, very excited.
games  review  simonparkin  eurogamer  streetfighter4  fighter 
february 2009 by infovore
Left 4 Dead Review | My Chemical Romance
Gerard Way reviews Left 4 Dead on My Chemical Romance's (totally excellent) blog.
games  awesome  review  left4dead  mcr  mychemicalromance  dontcrossthestreams 
december 2008 by infovore
Review: Consequence-Free Prince of Persia Reduces Frustration, Loses the Fun | Game | Life from
"Yes, it's true that at no time while playing Prince of Persia did I feel any of the frustration that I felt on a regular basis in Mirror's Edge. But neither did I ever feel the joy of doing something right, of stringing together a perfect series of vaults and wall-runs and feeling like it was based on my own skill. Can one exist without the other? Is it impossible to create joy without difficulty? I don't know. But Prince of Persia lost something significant." I'm a bit worried about the new Prince, especially having read this; the challenge/reward balance is hugely important to it as a series, especially since the marvellous Sands of Time. Also, more worryingly: are developers shying away from letting players fail any more?
princeofpersia  review  games  gameplay  mechanics  challenge  failure  reward 
december 2008 by infovore
Games are Software « Save the Robot - Chris Dahlen
"I come from a software background, as well as an artsy-fartsy one. I want to see games as art, but they’re also supposed to work as logically-constructed bodies of code. And in a lot of cases, reviewers need to see them as software rather than as art. Here’s why..." I think Steve has some good points here, but I'm not totally swung yet; after all, games might _be_ software, but do we _experience_ them as software? I'm not sure that we do, and that's why we respond to them in the manner we do.
games  software  criticism  review  development  stevegaynor 
december 2008 by infovore
Keith Stuart: Do game reviewers really understand innovation? | Technology |
"The 'better sequel' mentality is damaging both to the games industry and to the quality of games journalism. It is a deferral of critical responsibility, a patronising pat on the head for the developer who dared to dream and fell short in some mythically vital way. I don't want to be frustrated by dodgy controls either, but then I'm willing to blunder through if I'm going to get an experience I never had before." And this is why I've been sticking with it; I think Keith is on the right lines with this quotation.
games  innovation  criticism  writing  keithstuart  review  mirrorsedge 
november 2008 by infovore
LittleBigPlanet Review - Eurogamer
"LittleBigPlanet lets [players] run wild, with unprecedented results, but it locks the majority out of the creative process, because it's time-consuming and simply not very enjoyable. We hoped it could do both those things. That it doesn't isn't the let-down it might have been, thanks to the untamed community of brilliant nutjobs that's already out there, appending their DIY masterpieces to this beautiful, mildly flawed, magnificently multiplayer platform game. We salute them, we salute Media Molecule for making it possible for them, and we salute Sony for its total commitment to this brave, hare-brained project. But mostly, we're just happy to see a flagship game for a modern system that's about running from left to right and jumping over things."
games  play  creativity  editing  review  eurogamer  ps3  littlebigplanet 
october 2008 by infovore » Blog Archive » Am I a cart dreaming I am worth playing?
"[Titanic] was one of the worst experiences of my former life. Since I stepped into the shadows of the Hell House, things had been pretty easy. Then I found Chrono Trigger." Not the SNES RPG; no, a Chinese-knock-off NES version. Full of horrific brokenness, Derrick plays through it for us. It feels like pulling teeth.
games  nes  chinese  rpg  chronotrigger  awful  humour  review 
august 2008 by infovore » Blog Archive » Prepare yourself, for tonight we board IN HELL!
"Titanic 1912, the RPG, made me cry blood, pluck my arm hairs, contemplate suicide and mumble incoherently in my cubicle as I held the fast-forward key." Chinese NES RPG based on Titanic. Great writeup; awful game.
games  videogmaes  rpg  chinese  titanic  review  humour  awful 
august 2008 by infovore
Braid Review // Xbox 360 /// Eurogamer
"In the context of Braid's melancholy mood, [the classic Mario quotation] becomes a bona fide commentary on the human condition. Our princess is always in another castle." Braid exists. Braid is real. Dan Whitehead's review is very good.
braid  eurogamer  games  play  review  criticism  jonathanblow 
august 2008 by infovore
Versus CluClu Land: O Tempora! O Mores! (pt. 2)
" stringing together “first-order” desires for loot and approval, these games train us to be passive pursuers of one desire after another rather than engaged critics." Part 2 of Pliskin's analysis of Benjamin Barber's "Consumed".
branding  brands  games  consumerism  book  review 
july 2008 by infovore
Grand Theft Auto: Sentenced
"I wish Rockstar had made a better game for Liberty City and I wish they had written a better story for Niko Bellic. Because these are two of the most memorable characters you'll meet in any videogame." A great piece of criticism.
gtaiv  criticism  games  play  review 
may 2008 by infovore
Nikon D3 / D300 Vs. Canon
"A friend once said to me that Canons are the best cameras available designed by engineers, and that Nikons are the best cameras one can buy designed by photographers. There may well be some truth to this aphorism." I like the aspects Michael focuses on.
d3  nikon  camera  review  ergonomics  design  product  photography 
january 2008 by infovore
Reading The Everyday
"Originally, I started a generic post on the business or marketing books I’ve read this year. But there’s only really one book I want to write about, because I think the ideas in it are incredibly important to anyone in marketing or product design. "
joemoran  business  marketing  design  product  culture  society  psychology  book  review 
january 2008 by infovore
Epson R-D1 Review
"Advancing the lever after each exposure makes that exposure seem more distinct and more deliberate." I too thought this weird when I played with Lars' example. but you only have to use it once to understand why it's there.
camera  leica  epson  rangefinder  review 
november 2007 by infovore
Daring Fireball: Leopard
"Making backup software that people can’t wait to try, and which, once activated, just automatically kicks in and does its thing on a regular schedule, is like making people want to go ahead and sign up for life insurance."
apple  osx  leopard  review  commentary  backup  timemachine  johngruber 
october 2007 by infovore
Professional Software Development » Strategies for Effective Code Reviews
"You need to mentally prepare yourself before starting a review by reminding yourself of the purpose of the review and the need for a critical, questioning attitude." Nice article on how to make code reviews effective.
code  review  software  development  programming  practice 
october 2007 by infovore » #23 - How to run a design critique
"The challenge is to create the openness needed for good ideas to surface, while simultaneously cultivating the feedback and criticism necessary to resolve open issues." Tell me about it.
design  review  product  management  development 
august 2007 by infovore
| insert credit | feature | the fukubukuro 2006: GAME OF THE YEAR EDITION
It's the 2006 Tim Rogers fukubukuro. Which translates as: 80,000 words of rambling on games. That said, some of it's very good - the "epic" section on Gears of War, amongst other things, is most perceptive.
games  gaming  review  year  play 
february 2007 by infovore
New Statesman - Sex, snobbery and sadism
"There are three basic ingredients in Dr No, all unhealthy, all thoroughly English: the sadism of a school boy bully, the mechanical two-dimensional sex-longings of a frustrated adolescent, and the crude, snob-cravings of a suburban adult." Wonderful 1958
newstatesman  bond  jamesbond  ianfleming  fiction  novel  review  criticism 
february 2007 by infovore
Guardian Unlimited Arts | Arts features | Between the lines
What if you could see each page of a book at the same time, hear every note of a sonata in an instant, or view an artist's works all together? Idris Khan's obsessive photographs attempt to do just that, writes Geoff Dyer
photography  art  review  criticism 
september 2006 by infovore

related tags

ahumument  apple  art  awesome  awful  backup  bond  book  books  braid  branding  brands  business  camera  challenge  chinese  chronotrigger  cinema  code  commentary  consumerism  craigmod  craigraine  creativity  criticism  culture  d3  design  development  direction  dontcrossthestreams  dukenukemforever  editing  epson  ergonomics  eurogamer  failure  fiction  fighter  film  gameplay  games  gaming  gf1  gtaiv  heartbreak  hgwells  history  hollow  humour  ianfleming  innovation  io9  jamesbond  jamesbridle  jaminwarren  joemoran  johngruber  jollygood  jonathanblow  joystiq  keitatakahashi  keithstuart  killscreen  l4d2  lanoire  left4dead  leica  leopard  literarycriticism  littlebigplanet  lrb  making  management  marketing  mcr  mechanics  metacritic  metropolis  michaelbay  migs  mirrorsedge  movies  mychemicalromance  nes  newstatesman  nikon  nobynobyboy  novel  openworld  osx  pace  panasonic  photography  play  practice  princeofpersia  product  programming  ps3  psychology  quality  rangefinder  realityisbroken  replication  review  reviews  reward  rpg  sciencefiction  scientificromance  scifi  scores  simonparkin  society  software  stevegaynor  stml  streetfighter4  suspense  terryeagleton  tetris  time  timemachine  titanic  tomphillips  toy  transformers  travel  understanding  videogames  videogmaes  wallstreetjournal  writing  year  yearnotes 

Copy this bookmark: