gominokouhai + opinion   14

I'm a Scientist, and I Don't Believe in Facts | Scientific American
Poorly expressed, but a fair enough point. As it stands, though, this simply feeds the trolls. Someone needs to point out that the nature of the scientific method is no excuse for bloviating about evolution or climate change.
science  opinion  natureoftruth 
december 2016 by gominokouhai
Why Beethoven rules supreme over Mozart | Torygraph
"Beethoven is simply on a different plane, when it comes to grandeur and the sublime." And "[c]ompared to Mozart and Haydn, his music is quite simply noisier"---I have been saying this for years. You can go on as much as you like about diminished fifths, but ultimately it is just that simple. Beethoven rocks your socks right off.
music  opinion 
april 2016 by gominokouhai
Iain Macwhirter: Shame on the SNP for choosing to park its conscience (From Herald Scotland)
I am not remotely surprised by this, just disappointed. It happened to the Lib Dems and now it's happening, in slightly less car-crash fashion, to the SNP. It will happen any time a party becomes mainstream and/or gets a sniff at the corridors of power. Radicalism is about pushing the envelope: it seems we need to start pushing a little harder again.
news  politics  opinion  activism  northofwatford 
april 2016 by gominokouhai
Give Everyone Money ¦ Gawker
Universal Basic Income: it's really not that complex
basicincome  economics  politics  socialism  opinion 
february 2016 by gominokouhai
Craig Murray » Blog Archive » My Friend Alistair Carmichael
Aaaand the apologia begins. Forthright innocent Alistair Carmichael corrupted by the insidious influence of Westminster. It's not his fault, it's the system. He probably had a bad childhood. Boo hoo, won't somebody think of the children, etc. What absolute bollocks. Power corrupts: Westminster doesn't have a monopoly on that. But it does not corrupt everyone. Carmichael was corruptible and demonstrated it. Carmichael is unfit to serve.
news  politics  fuckwits  bloodytories  opinion 
may 2015 by gominokouhai
Letter from Westminster | The Shetland Times
"The right to freedom of speech is a fundamental one but it does bring a responsibility with it to tell the truth. The right to smear an opponent is not one we should be defending". This seemed to be standard, common-sense, but unenlightened political commentary, until I saw who wrote it.
news  politics  opinion  bloodytories  fuckwits 
may 2015 by gominokouhai
"Too many pointy-heads and too few street fighters": Labour's Michael Dugher on what went wrong
"Dugher is even more despairing of what he calls Labour’s “annihilation” in Scotland. He blames the Better Together campaign. “Scotland and our approach to it was an unmitigated disaster. We totally fucked up that referendum campaign – and that would almost be a generous and kind interpretation,” he gives a hollow laugh", and so do we all.
news  politics  opinion  fuckwits  bloodytories 
may 2015 by gominokouhai
A letter from a lost voter
All true. How do we know it's true? @dhothersall "[doesn't] agree with all of it".
politics  opinion  fuckwits  bloodytories 
may 2015 by gominokouhai
You've thrown your toys out the pram and now you've got 5 years of the Tories | Mirror
Those lessons that Labour and the Lib Dems needed to learn? They're not learning.
politics  bloodytories  fuckwits  opinion 
may 2015 by gominokouhai
On Remaining A Member of the Scottish Opposition | danieldwilliam
Those reservations I mentioned I still gots about the SNP? This is a list of pretty much all of them.
news  politics  opinion  bloodytories 
may 2015 by gominokouhai

Copy this bookmark:



description:


tags: