opinion   43836

« earlier    

Homo sapiens devient-il homo informaticus ?
oisif, oisive

adjectif et nom
(ancien français oidif, avec l'influence de oiseux)

Qui n'exerce aucune activité permanente et dispose de nombreux loisirs, qui vit sans travailler.
human  workforce  future  book  français  opinion  work  self  ai  data 
2 hours ago by aries1988
Hey, Alexa, Defrost My Peas - The New York Times
SEATTLE — If you’re one of the millions of people without a smart speaker in your home, Amazon wants to talk to you.
Archive  ifttt  nyt  op-ed  opinion 
16 hours ago by odelano
Windows on How Cities Change Can Be All Too Captivating - The New York Times
Technology is crowding curbs with ride hailers and keeping homeowners fixated on housing values. Here are the tools that Emily Badger, a writer for The Upshot, uses to analyze the ripple effects.
Archive  ifttt  nyt  op-ed  opinion 
yesterday by odelano
Europe to Investigate Amazon’s Dual Role of Merchant and Platform - The New York Times
For many independent merchants who sell their goods on Amazon, there has long been deep concern that if the e-commerce giant saw a particular product selling well, the company would duplicate it, but at a lower price.
Archive  ifttt  nyt  op-ed  opinion 
yesterday by odelano
Inside Facebook’s Election ‘War Room’ - The New York Times
MENLO PARK, Calif. — Sandwiched between Building 20 and Building 21 in the heart of Facebook’s campus, an approximately 25-foot by 35-foot conference room is under construction. Thick cords of blue wiring hang from the ceiling, ready to be attached to window-size computer monitors on 16 desks.
Archive  ifttt  nyt  op-ed  opinion 
yesterday by odelano
Why Jeff Bezos Should Push for Nobody to Get as Rich as Jeff Bezos - The New York Times
Jeff Bezos, the founder of Amazon and the world’s wealthiest man, has been publicly agonizing over a vexing problem: what to do with all his money. Last week, more than a year after asking his Twitter followers for philanthropic ideas, Mr. Bezos and his wife, MacKenzie, announced an initial plan.
Archive  ifttt  nyt  op-ed  opinion 
2 days ago by odelano
Apple Watch Series 4 Review: A Big Deal for Our Health - The New York Times
The faster speeds and larger screen sound boring on paper. But an electrical heart sensor gives a glimpse of the promise to come, our reviewer writes. About a minute later, a printer produced a chart of my heart’s electrical activity on red graph paper.
Archive  ifttt  nyt  op-ed  opinion 
2 days ago by odelano
Parts of a ‘Virtual’ Border Wall, Built With the Tech Behind Driverless Cars - The New York Times
DEL RIO, Tex. — In this tiny town at the edge of South Texas brush country, a black steel fence runs along the Mexican border. About 15 feet high and topped by small metal spires that bend toward Mexico, it stretches west from a Border Patrol checkpoint for about a mile and a half. Then it stops.
Archive  ifttt  nyt  op-ed  opinion 
2 days ago by odelano
Selcer: A second opinion on being fat, happy and healthy - Emerald Media
A response to an article which declared that HAES means "promoting obesity" or some other nonsense.
fat  haes  opinion  article  bodyacceptance 
2 days ago by moose
The iPhone XS and XS Max Review: Bigger Is Now Definitely Better - The New York Times
Apple’s new smartphones start at $999 and $1,099, but their superb cameras and screens make them worth the high prices, our reviewer writes. For the past few years, I have been a naysayer on one feature of smartphones: their growing size.
Archive  ifttt  nyt  op-ed  opinion 
3 days ago by odelano
Software disenchantment @ tonsky.me
I’ve been programming for 15 years now. Recently our industry’s lack of care for efficiency, simplicity, and excellence started really getting to me, to the point of me getting depressed by my own career and the IT in general.
performance  opinion 
3 days ago by nicolashery
我为什么抛弃Kindle,重新回归纸质书?
当你并不明确你的问题,你对某个问题思考良久,需要一些启发,但是你又不太记得你在哪个章节里看到过的时候,怎么办?

或者我们再一起想想:你是如何将一个问题,从模糊「了解」到可以「运用」,这个过程是如何发生的?
我猜想,在阅读的情境中,这个过程大概会是:当我们读同一类大主题的书,不同作者谈到同一个话题的时候,所引发的你的思考。这个思考的片段让你兴奋。
在你兴奋的时候,在这本书勾起沉睡在你脑中的相似的知识片段的时候,如果你能「即时」捕捉记录下来,这对你将知识碎片串联成成体系的知识结构有莫大帮助。这或许是最为关键的动作。

所以纸质书对人的思考最有帮助的地方在于:那些模糊的、呼之欲出的、似是而非的、就差捅一下窗户纸你就快理解和「想清楚」了的时刻,是最需要借助纸和笔帮助你厘清思考的时候。
ebook  book  reading  choice  opinion 
3 days ago by aries1988
If You See Disinformation Ahead of the Midterms, We Want to Hear From You - The New York Times
As November’s midterm elections approach, The New York Times is looking for examples of online ads, posts and texts that contain political disinformation or false claims and are being deliberately spread on internet platforms to try to influence local, statewide, and federal elections.
Archive  ifttt  nyt  op-ed  opinion 
3 days ago by odelano
Opinion | The Hacking of America - The New York Times
Political and technological disruption have fed off each other since the nation’s founding. Now they are dangerously out of whack.
1  Opinion 
3 days ago by noiseguy
A San Francisco Tech Mogul Buys a Fabled Slice of New York Media - The New York Times
SAN FRANCISCO — Marc Benioff is like the Salesforce Tower: He looms over this city. At 1,070 feet, the tower is the second-tallest building west of the Mississippi. Mr. Benioff moved Salesforce into it in January, right before his software company became the largest private employer in the city.
Archive  ifttt  nyt  op-ed  opinion 
3 days ago by odelano

« earlier    

related tags

-  1  2018  20180804  25thamendment  80flatbush  9/11  =  ===  a  advertising  aei  ai  algorithm  anonymous  antennas  architecture  archive  armand-musey  article  bedstuy  best  bestpractices  blog  bobwoodward  bodyacceptance  book  boreumhill  box  brexit  brooklyn  by:timkadlec  choice  civic+engagement  civil+society  climate.change  clippings  cloud  commons  consensus  constitution  crainsnewyork  crownheights  css  cssinjs  culture  dana.milbank  data  dataownership  democrats  design  development  disenchantment  donaldtrump  e.j.dionne  ebook  economics  economist  editorial  elections  elpais  essay  ethics  execution  fascism  fat  feminism  firewall  flatbush  foreignpolicy  framework  france  français  frontend  future  gentrification  geo  go  good  governance  guardian  guide  haes  hatchetjob  higheredtrends  history  homelessness  housing  human  humour  ifttt  immigration  in-chinese  in  interesting  issue  javascript  journalism  justice  k-12trends  kodi  language  law  leo  libraries  marketing  memory  militarism  music  my  news  newspapers  ngso  no-brainer  nyt  nytimes  obsolescence  op-ed  opennewyork  performance  philosophy  photography  php  policy  politics  politique  populism  problem  publichighereducation  publishing  racism  racisme  react  reading  redux  reference  renters  resistance  robertmueller  satellite  schools  seattletimes  security  self  social+stratification  socialjustice  sociology  société  software  spotify  stateless  streaming  sweden  technology  theatlantic  thedailybeast  things  tolearn  toread  tounderstand  trust  tuition  tutorial  uk  uppereastside  us  wealth  webdesign  webdev  whistleblowers  work  workforce  wtf  zakaria 

Copy this bookmark:



description:


tags: